Research Guides: Mechanical Engineering: EM434 Additive Manufacturing

Start with Background Research

When starting your research, you may need some foundational information on your area of focus. Nimitz Library has access to books and ebooks on many topics related to additive manufacuring. Below are a selection of resources available to you.

For more content, check out this Nimitz Search result list for additive manufacturing.

ASM Handbook, Volume 24: Additive Manufacturing Processes by Mohsen Seifi; David L. Bourell; William Frazier; Howard Kuhn
Call Number: First Floor Reference; TA459 .M43

Volume 24 provides information on the metals, ceramics, and polymers used in additive manufacturing (AM) and how they respond to the transformative forces and energies applied over the course of production. It covers all commercially relevant processes including vat polymerization, material jetting, powder bed fusion, directed energy deposition, binder jetting, material extrusion, and sheet lamination.
Springer Handbook of Additive Manufacturing by Eujin Pei, Alain Bernard, Dongdong Gu, Christoph Klahn, Mario Monzón, Maren Petersen, Tao Sun
Click the link to read the book online.
Additive Manufacturing Technologies by Ian Gibson, David Rosen, Brent Stucker, Mahyar Khorasani
Call Number: Third Floor General Stacks TS183.25 .G53 2021

This book is available in print on the third floor of Nimitz Library.
Additive and Subtractive Manufacturing of Composites by Sanjay M.R; Munish Kumar Gupta; Suchart Siengchin; Qinghua Song
Click the title link to read the book online.
Additive Manufacturing, Second Edition by Amit Bandyopadhyay; Susmita Bose
Call Number: Third Floor General Stacks; TS171.95 .A33 2020
Advances in Metal Additive Manufacturing by Sachin Salunkhe; Sergio T. Amancio-Filho; J. Paulo Davim
Click the title link to read the book online.
Fundamentals of Additive Manufacturing for the Practitioner by Sheku Kamara; Kathy S. Faggiani
Click the title link to read the book online.
Fundamentals of Laser Powder Bed Fusion of Metals by Igor Yadroitsev; Ina Yadroitsava; Anton Du Plessis; Eric MacDonald
Click the link to read the book online.

Dive Deeper with Journal Articles and Conference Papers

Search in the following databases for information describing the results of experiments and overviews of the state of the art in additive manufacturing research.

Engineering Village (Compendex and Inspec)
Home of engineering databases Compendex and Inspec, Engineering Village includes journals, conference proceedings, dissertations, technical standards, trade magazines, technical reports and engineering information

Home of engineering databases, Compendex and Inspec, Engineering Village includes journals, conference proceedings, dissertations, technical standards, trade magazines, technical reports and engineering information
Advanced Technologies & Aerospace Database (Proquest)
Covers basic and applied research in aeronautics, astronautics, and space sciences as well as technology development and applications in computer & information technology, electronics, communications, solid state devices and space sciences.

The collection contains advanced technology related full-text articles, granular access to millions of figures and tables within articles, and the entire range of bibliographic records from the Advanced Technologies Database with Aerospace (ATDWA). ATDWA brings together the most comprehensive bibliographic coverage of research, emerging technologies, applications and companies in the areas of aeronautics, astronautics, computer & information technology, electronics, communications, solid state devices and space sciences.
Scopus
A multidisciplinary database with citation data which helps you identify the foundational, most cited works in a subject area.

Scopus is a comprehensive, curated abstract and citation database that finds relevant and authoritative research, identifies experts and provides access to reliable data, metrics and analytical tool across a wide variety of disciplines.
IEEE Xplore
A digital library providing full text access to technical literature in electrical engineering, computer science, and electronics.

A digital library providing full text access to the world's highest quality technical literature in electrical engineering, computer science, and electronics. IEEE Xplore contains full text documents from IEEE journals, transactions, magazines, letters, conference proceedings, standards, and IET (Institution of Engineering and Technology) publications.

Help, I can't access this article!

Try these steps if you find an article or book and can't read it.

Submit an interlibrary loan (ILL) request. Watch the video below for more information on how to get started.
ILL is a service through which Nimitz Library obtains articles not in our collection from other libraries for your use. You must be on the yard or connected via VPN/VDI to submit a request.
Email the Engineering Librarian for help finding the full text of an article or book.

AM Standards

ASTM Compass hosts dozens of additive manufacturing standards created by the American Society for Testing and Materials, including:

ASTM 52900 Additive manufacturing — General principles — Fundamentals and vocabulary

ASTM 52915 Specification for additive manufacturing file format (AMF) Version 1.2

ASTM 52921 Standard Terminology for Additive Manufacturing—Coordinate Systems and Test Methodologies

ASTM 52927 Additive manufacturing — General principles — Main characteristics and corresponding test methods

Browse ASTM's full list of additive manufacturing standards and find the full text in Compass.

DoD Additive Manufacturing Strategy

Published in 2021, this document articulates the DoD's vision for the use of additive manufacturing and strategic goals toward implementation.