Research Guides: Mechanical Engineering: Journal Articles &amp; Conference Papers

Search Tips

Save time with these search tips in the book catalog, most article databases and even Google.

Tip	Example
Join different concepts with AND	engine AND emissions
Join similar concepts with OR	corrosion AND (inhibiting OR resistance)
Use * (asterisk) to find variations of your keyword	efficien* finds efficient, efficiency, efficiencies, etc.

Where to Find Conference Papers & Journal Articles

These collections contain abstracts and the full text of conference papers and journal articles. If you find a document in a database and you can't access the full text, email the engineering librarian or submit an interlibrary loan request.

Advanced Technologies & Aerospace Database (Proquest) This link opens in a new window
A collection of full text and index collections covering engineering, advanced technologies and aerospace topics.
The collection contains advanced technology related full-text articles, granular access to millions of figures and tables within articles, and the entire range of bibliographic records from the Advanced Technologies Database with Aerospace (ATDWA). ATDWA brings together the most comprehensive bibliographic coverage of research, emerging technologies, applications and companies in the areas of aeronautics, astronautics, computer & information technology, electronics, communications, solid state devices and space sciences.
IEEE Xplore This link opens in a new window
A digital library providing full text access to IEEE journals, transactions, magazines, letters, conference proceedings, standards, and IET (Institution of Engineering and Technology) publications.
A digital library providing full text access to the world's highest quality technical literature in electrical engineering, computer science, and electronics. IEEE Xplore contains full text documents from IEEE journals, transactions, magazines, letters, conference proceedings, standards, and IET (Institution of Engineering and Technology) publications.
Engineering Village (Compendex) This link opens in a new window
A comprehensive bibliographic database of scientific and technical engineering research available, covering all engineering disciplines. It includes millions of bibliographic citations and abstracts from thousands of engineering journals and conference proceedings.
A comprehensive bibliographic database of scientific and technical engineering research available, covering all engineering disciplines. It includes millions of bibliographic citations and abstracts from thousands of engineering journals and conference proceedings.

ASME Digital Collection
We subscribe to a select number of ASME titles. Use the Digital Collection link to search for ASME journal articles and conference papers. Request the full papers through interlibrary loan.

How to Find Conference Papers

Researchers report many new and novel procedures, process, products, and systems at conferences. Major society conferences, like ASME, are available through their respective digital libraries, but others can be difficult to find.

Didn't find the full text in the database?

First, try treating the name of the conference like a book title or author and searching it as keywords in our catalogue. This will tell you if we have any proceedings from that conference in our print collection.
Second, if you can't locate the conference proceeding, contact the engineering librarian
Third, submit an interlibrary loan request and the library will try to get a copy of the item you need from another library.

How to Find the Whole Article

Found a blue Find It @ USNA button instead of a full article?

Click the button to see if we have access to the article elsewhere.

Find it at USNA button

If you cannot access the full text of a document, use interlibrary loan to request it.

Legend

The following icons are used in the resources lists:

	Resource is available only to USNA midshipmen, faculty, and staff.
	Not all content is available to USNA midshipmen, faculty, and staff.
	Password required. Contact the Reference desk, 3-6946, for login information.
	Content not fully available in Nimitz Search. Try searching this database on its own.
Best Bet	Resource is an excellent all-purpose starting point for the selected subject.
	Available after logging in to the DoD MWR Digital Library.
	Some full text downloads may require installation of Adobe Digital Editions.

No longer need your copy of that proceedings?

If you've attended a conference and no longer need the published proceedings, please consider donating it to the library. Contact the Engineering Librarian for details.

It can be very difficult for the library to locate and purchase copies of conference publications from smaller organizations and events after the meeting. We are especially interested in proceedings from conferences related to naval and ocean engineering.