Research Guides: Mechanical Engineering: Books

Books in Nimitz Library's Collection

Listed here are a few selected titles available in Nimitz Library. To find additional books, search the Nimitz Search.

Try keyword searches such as copper alloys or aircraft carriers. The call numbers for mechanical engineering topics generally begin with TJ on the Third Floor.

Additive Manufacturing for Designers: A Primer by Amy Elliott and Cynthia Waters
Click the title link to read the book online
ASM Handbook by ASM International
Call Number: First Floor Reference TA459 .M43 1990
Essentials of Materials Science and Engineering by Donald R. Askeland, Pradeep P. Fulay
Call Number: Third Floor TA403 .A7335 2009
Fatigue and Fracture: Understanding the Basics by F.C. Campbell
Click the title link to read the book online.
Introduction to Internal Combustion Engines by Richard Stone
Call Number: Third Floor TJ755 .S87 2012
ISBN: 9780230576636
Marks' Standard Handbook for Mechanical Engineers, 12th Edition
Call Number: TJ151 .S82 2018
Click the title link to read the book online. Also available in print.
Mastering 3D Printing: A Guide to Modeling, Printing, and Prototyping by Joan Horvath and Rich Cameron
Click the title link to read the book online
Mechanical Design by Antonino Risitano
Call Number: Third Floor TJ230 .R57 2011
Protective Armor Engineering Design by Magdi El Messiry
Call Number: Third Floor T55.3.P75 E43 2020
Uhlig's Corrosion Handbook by R. Winston Revie, editor
Click the title link to read the book online.

eBook Collections

Knovel This link opens in a new window
A collection of engineering ebooks dating from the 1960s to present.
Provides access to the most comprehensive engineering reference content sourced from the leading societies, publishers and authors. Provides interactive tools that normalize information across content sources and bring content to life by making tables, charts, equations, plotters and graphs interactive.
AccessEngineering This link opens in a new window
A collection of handbooks, textbooks and data visualization tools.
A regularly updated engineering reference tool for professionals, academics, and students that provide seamless access to dynamic online features, such as instructional, faculty made videos, calculators, interactive tables and charts, as well as personalization tools allowing users to organize crucial project information as they work.
O'Reilly's Academic Library: This link opens in a new window
Includes technical and business content from more than 200 publishers. Must register before first use with a usna.edu email address.

Need Cost Data?

Find our cost estimating resources by searching "RS Means Data" in Nimitz Search.

Need Help with MATLAB?

The O'Reilly Academic Library collection has many ebooks on learning MATLAB and Simulink. A few are listed below; search the collection for more examples. O'Reilly Academic Library requires registration prior to first use. Contact the engineering librarian for help.

Essential MATLAB for Engineers and Scientists by Daniel Valentine and Brian Hahn
Click the title link to read the book online.
Introduction to MATLAB for Engineers and Scientists: Solutions for Numerical Computation and Modeling by Sandeep Nagar
Click the title link to read the book online. Requires registration before first use.
Beginning MATLAB and Simulink : From Beginner to Pro by Sulaymon L. Eshkabilov
Click the title link to read the book online. Requires registration before first use.
Learning MATLAB: A Problem Solving Approach by Walter Gander
Click the title link to read the book online
Practical MATLAB Deep Learning : A Project-Based Approach by Michael Paluszek and Stephanie Thomas
Click the title to read the book online
Matlab: A Practical Introduction to Programming and Problem Solving by Dorothy C. Attaway
Click the title link to read the book online.