Research Guides: Mechanical Engineering: EM313 Materials Science

Finding Books and Encyclopedias

Nimitz Search is your first stop for books and encyclopedias with information on your alloy. Combine your alloy's name with terms like structure, properties or handbook. Once you've found a book that fits your topic, browse the shelves nearby for additional materials.

Knovel contains ebooks and data tables with material property data. It's a useful database for your assignment.

Access Engineering's DataVis helps you find and compare material property data.

Most of the books included here are in the First Floor Reference section. Search in the same call number areas on the Third Deck for similar resources.

Need help? Ask the engineering librarian for assistance.

Alloy Property Books and eBooks

ASM Handbook
Call Number: First Floor Reference TA459 .M43 1990
These volumes cover the properties, processing, and applications of metals and nonmetallic engineering materials. Specific volumes that may be useful include:
Volume 1: Properties and selection: Irons, steels and high-performance alloys
Volume 2: Properties and selection: Non-ferrous alloys and special-purpose materials
Volume 2b: Properties and Selection of Aluminum Alloys
Volume 3: Alloy phase diagrams
ASM Metals Reference Book
Call Number: Third Floor General Stacks; TA459 .A78 1993
Provides data on ferrous and nonferrous metals for easy review and comparison of different materials. Covers chemical compositions, physical and mechanical properties, manufacturing processes, applications, pertinent specifications and standards, and test methods.
CRC Materials Science and Engineering Handbook
Call Number: First Floor Reference TA403.4 .C74 2016
A single-volume source for physical and chemical property data on a wide range of engineering materials.
CRC Practical Handbook of Materials Selection
Call Number: Third Floor General Stacks TA403.4 .S482 1995
Includes material properties and data sets to facilitate comparing materials by property value.
Fatigue Data Book: Light Structural Alloys
Click the title link to read the book online.
This book contains fatigue data for aluminum, magnesium, and titanium alloys.
Fatigue of Materials by S. Suresh
Call Number: TA418.38 .S87 1998
Click the title link to read this book online. This book provides an authoritative, comprehensive and unified treatment of the mechanics and micromechanisms of fatigue in metals, non-metals and composites.
Marks' Standard Handbook for Mechanical Engineers, 12th Edition
Call Number: First Floor Reference TJ151 .S82 2018
Click the title link to read the book online. Also available in print on the first floor.
A comprehensive handbook covering many topics of critical relevance to mechanical engineers. Of note are Section 3: Strength of Materials and Section 4: Materials of Engineering
Materials Handbook, 15th edition
Click the title link to read the book online.

Includes concise descriptions of a material’s origin, composition and applications and details as: density, ductility; hardness; solubility; specific heat; toxicity; melting point; cost versus performance; conductivity; resistance to heat and corrosives; principal alloys and component percentages; magnetism and tensile strength.
The Metal Databook
Call Number: First Floor Reference TA459 .N39
Provides a wide range of standard test methods for determining material properties from Rockwell, Brinell, and Vickers hardness tests to micrographic methods; and presents metallurgical data - including chemical composition, mechanical properties, and heat treatment - for cast irons, steel, aluminum, copper, zinc, and related alloys, as well as powder metallurgy.
Metals Handbook Desk Edition, second edition
Call Number: First Floor Reference TA459 .M288 1998
Click the title link to read the book online. Also available in print on the first floor.
A single-volume reference source on the properties, selection, processing, testing, and characterization of metals and their alloys
MIL-HDBK-5H: Metallic Materials and Elements for Aerospace Vehicle Structures
Click the title link to read the book online.

Contains standardized design values and related design information for metallic materials and structural elements used in aerospace vehicle structures. It provides mechanical and physical property data, including fatigue-crack propagation rate; fracture toughness; fatigue, creep, and rupture strength for steel, aluminum, magnesium, titanium, and other alloys.
Smithells Metals Reference Book
Call Number: First Floor Reference TN671 .S55 2004
Click the title link to read the book online. Also available in print on the first floor.
Text provides data on all key aspects of metallic materials, including narrative information on metallurgical and related topics.
Springer Handbook of Materials Data
Click the title link to read the book online.
The chapters provide succinct descriptions and summarize essential and reliable data for various types of materials.
Superalloys
Click the title link to read the book online.
Provides an introduction for understanding the compositional complexity of superalloys and the wide range of alloys developed for specific applications. The basics of alloying, strengthening mechanisms, and structure of superalloys are explained in optimizing particular mechanical properties, oxidation/corrosion resistance, and manufacturing characteristics such as castability, forgeability, and weldability.
Thermophysical Properties of Matter by Y. S. Touloukian
Call Number: QC171.P83
The TPM data series contains thermophysical and thermoradiative properties for metallic alloys and elements, nonmetallic liquids and solids, composites, ceramics, gases and coatings.
Woldman's Engineering Alloys
Call Number: First Floor Reference TA483 .W64 2000
First section lists over 53,000 trade-named alloys with a brief description of the material. Second section lists alloy manufacturers with contact information or an indication of their current business status. Third section presents useful tables including compositions of standard grades.

Finding Journal Articles

Use these databases to find peer-reviewed journal articles and conference papers on your alloy. Use the same terms you used to search in Nimitz Search and Knovel.

ASME Digital Collection
We subscribe to a select number of ASME titles. Use the Digital Collection link to search for ASME journal articles and conference papers. Request the full papers through interlibrary loan.

Advanced Technologies & Aerospace Database (Proquest) This link opens in a new window
A collection of full text and index collections covering engineering, advanced technologies and aerospace topics. It's a great place to get started looking for full text articles on your topic.
The collection contains advanced technology related full-text articles, granular access to millions of figures and tables within articles, and the entire range of bibliographic records from the Advanced Technologies Database with Aerospace (ATDWA). ATDWA brings together the most comprehensive bibliographic coverage of research, emerging technologies, applications and companies in the areas of aeronautics, astronautics, computer & information technology, electronics, communications, solid state devices and space sciences.
Engineering Village (Compendex and Inspec) This link opens in a new window
A comprehensive source for citations and abstracts of scientific and technical engineering research available, covering all engineering disciplines. We have online access back to 1969.
Home of engineering databases, Compendex and Inspec, Engineering Village includes journals, conference proceedings, dissertations, technical standards, trade magazines, technical reports and engineering information
Scopus This link opens in a new window
Scopus is a comprehensive, curated abstract and citation database that finds relevant and authoritative research, identifies experts and provides access to reliable data, metrics and analytical tool across a wide variety of disciplines.
Scopus is a comprehensive, curated abstract and citation database that finds relevant and authoritative research, identifies experts and provides access to reliable data, metrics and analytical tool across a wide variety of disciplines.