Economics

Type name of country in search box in upper right corner. USE CHROME OR SEARCH BOX WON'T SHOW UP.

Data at region, state, and local level. Inflation, prices, productivity, benefits, consumer spending, workplace injuries. Select Data in top navigation menu to see all data options.

At the CITY level: income and population. Data such as consumer spending, GDP, domestic and international industry statistics also available at other Census geographic levels. Foreign investing and MNE data.

The NBER Public Use Data Archive is an eclectic mix of public-use economic, demographic, and enterprise data obtained over the years to satisfy the specific requests of NBER-affiliated researchers for particular projects.

Find (baseline and long-term) projections of budgetary and economic outcomes based on the assumption that current laws regarding federal spending and revenues will generally remain in place, including the effects of demographic trends, economic developments, and rising health care costs on federal spending, revenues, and deficits. CBO provides formal, written estimates of the cost of virtually every bill approved by Congressional committees to show how the bill would affect spending or revenues.

Historical data (including employment, earnings, credit, auto loans, department store sales) and statistics from the Federal Reserve and other documents giving economic, financial and banking history of the United States.

from Department of Homeland Security

From Europa World Plus: charts and downloads for agriculture, education, external trade, finance, health, industry, and population.

In left column, look for Eurostat Regional Yearbook 2014 for information about the regions of the Member States of the European Union (EU), as well as the regions of EFTA and candidate countries.
Find statistical information in maps, figures and tables, accompanied by a description of the policy context, main findings and data sources covering population, health, education, the labor market, the economy, structural business statistics, research and innovation, the information society, tourism, transport, and agriculture. In addition, four special focus chapters are included in the 2014 edition covering the environment, land cover and land use, European cities, and regional competitiveness.

Downloadable, some data goes back to 1946.

From US Census, trade by commodity and country, by U.S. state. U.S. trade in goods by state. Other international trade data.

Country level economic and military foreign assistance data, downloadable across sectors and implementing agency from 1945 to present.

The primary World Bank collection of development indicators, compiled from officially-recognized international sources. It presents the most current and accurate global development data available, and includes national, regional and global estimates.

From International Monetary Fund (IMF)

Historical and current distribution of wealth and incomes within and between countries.

From Paris School of Economics

The Worldwide Governance Indicators (WGI) project reports aggregate and individual governance indicators for over 200 countries and territories over the period 1996–2018, for six dimensions of governance: Voice and Accountability, Political Stability and Absence of Violence, Government Effectiveness, Regulatory Quality, Rule of Law, Control of Corruption. Download data or use interactive data tools provided.

Data sets and maps on a variety of health related statistics including health care access and coverage, vaccinations, motor vehicles, and violence/injury.
See also countyhealthrankings.org

Dating back to 1960, find annual U.S. expenditures for health care goods and services, public health activities, government administration, the net cost of health insurance, and investment related to health care.

See also "data by country" at the World Bank (https://data.worldbank.org)

View already built tables, build your own, or download the datasets. You can also access other Census surveys by clicking on the "Our Surveys and Programs" link at the top of the page.

“The MPC (Minnesota Population Center) is one of the world's leading developers of demographic data resources … data are available free over the internet.” Also includes health, international data and “how U.S. adults divide their time among activities.”

Find statistics on population size and composition, births, deaths, marriage and divorce on an annual basis. Demographic Yearbook special topics issues cover a wide range of additional topics including economic activity, educational attainment, household characteristics, housing, ethnicity and language, among others. Data have been collected from national statistical authorities since 1948 through a set of questionnaires dispatched annually by the United Nations Statistics Division to over 230 national statistical offices.

Crime, inmates, expenditures, victimization.
See also Uniform Crime Reports below.

including FISA and wiretap reports

Personnel, manpower, training, and financial data.

The Global Terrorism Database (GTD) from UMD is an open-source database including information on domestic and international terrorist events from 1970 through 2016.

DoD, NATO, and regional budgets. Entries by region list national military organizations, personnel numbers, equipment inventories, selected national arms procurements and deliveries. From the International Institute for Strategic Studies, annual assessments of the military capabilities and defense economics of 171 countries worldwide. 1964 - present.

Mapping Police Violence sources information from the “three largest, most comprehensive and impartial crowdsourced databases on police killings in the country: FatalEncounters.org, the U.S. Police Shootings Database and KilledbyPolice.net.”

Stockholm International Peace Research Institute SIPRI Yearbook: discussion on the data below in addition to regional and contemporary issues, sanctions, specific conflicts and nuclear forces.
SIPRI Arms Industry Database: information on the 100 largest arms-producing and military services companies including host country.
SIPRI Multilateral Peace Operations Database: information on all peace operations conducted since 2000, including location, dates of deployment and operation, mandate, participating countries, number of personnel, costs and fatalities.
SIPRI Military Expenditure Database: annual military spending of countries since 1988, including as a share of GDP.
SIPRI also maintains comprehensive collections of material covering arms control and disarmament.

Find national crime rates, also by state and some counties/cities, arrests, clearance rates, law enforcement employee data; campus, hate, bank, financial, internet and mortgage fraud crimes. UCR Data Tool for statistics back to 1960. Domestic and international terrorism
See also Bureau of Justice Statistics above.

Collaborative project between the Department of Peace and Conflict Research at Uppsala University & the Centre for the Study of Civil War at PRIO. Covers 1946-2023.

Dataset topics include armed conflict & Intervention, regime authority characteristics & transitions, state fragility, and conflict in India. Time range various by topic.

World religious adherence from 1945-2010.

Data (world, national, regional) and other polling information to evaluate measures of religion, spirituality, and related measures.

The Association of Religious Data Archives

Popularity, relations with Congress, public appearances, editorial endorsements, voter turnout.

Also market data and interest rates.

Datasets on decisions, term of Court, outcome, voting and opinions.

All aspects of federal taxation, individual and business, tax exemptions, exempt organizations, IRS operations and budget.