Comparative Politics

County and state level data published yearly, has agricultural production, supplies, consumption, facilities, costs, and returns for crops and livestock.

from Department of Homeland Security

At the CITY level: income and population. Data such as consumer spending, GDP, domestic and international industry statistics also available at other Census geographic levels. Foreign investing and MNE data.

Crime, inmates, expenditures, victimization.
See also Uniform Crime Reports below.

Data at region, state, and local level. Inflation, prices, productivity, benefits, consumer spending, workplace injuries.

Data sets and maps on a variety of health related statistics including health care access and coverage, vaccinations, motor vehicles, and violence/injury.
See also countyhealthrankings.org

Equity in Athletics from US Department of Education

Statistical information from BLS on the buying habits of American consumers, including data on their expenditures, income, and consumer unit (families and single consumers) characteristics. (Create Customized Tables: https://data.bls.gov/cgi-bin/dsrv?cx)

From Europa World Plus: charts and downloads for agriculture, education, external trade, finance, health, industry, and population.

including FISA and wiretap reports

"Raw" data sets from a wide variety of government entities.

Personnel, manpower, training, and financial data.

From NCES, the National Center for Education Statistics.

Find statistical information in maps, figures and tables, accompanied by a description of the policy context, main findings and data sources covering population, health, education, the labor market, the economy, structural business statistics, research and innovation, the information society, tourism, transport, and agriculture.

Beginning with 2002, covering over 130,000 firms (including foreign countries), find a broad range of business environment topics including access to finance, corruption, infrastructure, crime, competition, business-government relations, workforce, gender participation, international trade, and performance measures. Free but registration required.

Downloadable, some data goes back to 1946.

From US Census, trade by commodity and country, by U.S. state. U.S. trade in goods by state. Other international trade data.

Historical data (including employment, earnings, credit, auto loans, department store sales) and statistics from the Federal Reserve and other documents giving economic, financial and banking history of the United States.

816,000 US and international time series from 108 sources.
Access by State and selected Census designations:
(https://fred.stlouisfed.org/categories/3008)
Access by topic area (https://www.newyorkfed.org/microeconomics/databank.html)

The Global Terrorism Database (GTD) from UMD is an open-source database including information on domestic and international terrorist events from 1970 through 2016.

Country level economic and military foreign assistance data, downloadable across sectors and implementing agency from 1945 to present.

Also market data and interest rates.

“The MPC (Minnesota Population Center) is one of the world's leading developers of demographic data resources … data are available free over the internet.” Also includes health, international data and “how U.S. adults divide their time among activities.”

DoD, NATO, and regional budgets. Entries by region list national military organizations, personnel numbers, equipment inventories, selected national arms procurements and deliveries. From the International Institute for Strategic Studies, annual assessments of the military capabilities and defense economics of 171 countries worldwide. 1964 - present.

Hosted by Bureau of Labor Statistics, links to international statistical organizations in 140 countries.

The National Center for Education Statistics (NCES) is the primary federal entity for collecting and analyzing data related to education. Also see Almanac of American Education in Nimitz Library: LA 217.2.A45 (reference).

See also link "new economic releases."

Dating back to 1960, find annual U.S. expenditures for health care goods and services, public health activities, government administration, the net cost of health insurance, and investment related to health care.

Popularity, relations with Congress, public appearances, editorial endorsements, voter turnout.

From a “nonpartisan fact tank” collecting data about issues, attitudes and trends shaping America and the world via public opinion polling, demographic research, media content analysis and other empirical social science research.

Mapping Police Violence sources information from the “three largest, most comprehensive and impartial crowdsourced databases on police killings in the country: FatalEncounters.org, the U.S. Police Shootings Database and KilledbyPolice.net.”

World religious adherence from 1945-2010.

Data (world, national, regional) and other polling information to evaluate measures of religion, spirituality, and related measures.

Stockholm International Peace Research Institute (In the online SIPRI Yearbook, find expert discussion on the data below in addition to regional and contemporary issues, sanctions, specific conflicts and nuclear forces)
SIPRI Arms Industry Database: information on the 100 largest arms-producing and military services companies including host country.
SIPRI Multilateral Peace Operations Database: information on all peace operations conducted since 2000, including location, dates of deployment and operation, mandate, participating countries, number of personnel, costs and fatalities.
SIPRI Military Expenditure Database: annual military spending of countries since 1988, including as a share of GDP.
SIPRI also maintains comprehensive collections of material covering arms control and disarmament.

Datasets on decisions, term of Court, outcome, voting and opinions.

All aspects of federal taxation, individual and business, tax exemptions, exempt organizations, IRS operations and budget.

Annual and International Energy Outlooks, greenhouse gas data, carbon dioxide emissions by state, maps. See Geography>International for International Energy Statistics.

Find national crime rates, also by state and some counties/cities, arrests, clearance rates, law enforcement employee data; campus, hate, bank, financial, internet and mortgage fraud crimes. UCR Data Tool for statistics back to 1960. Domestic and international terrorism
See also Bureau of Justice Statistics above.

Data from "National Accounts Statistics: Main Aggregates and Detailed Tables yearbook"

Find statistics on population size and composition, births, deaths, marriage and divorce on an annual basis. Demographic Yearbook special topics issues cover a wide range of additional topics including economic activity, educational attainment, household characteristics, housing, ethnicity and language, among others. Data have been collected from national statistical authorities since 1948 through a set of questionnaires dispatched annually by the United Nations Statistics Division to over 230 national statistical offices.

Annual data for 224 countries and areas for the period 2008 to 2011 are presented on production, trade and consumption of energy for solid, liquid, and gaseous fuels, electricity, and heat. Per capita consumption series are also provided for all energy products.

WORLD DRUG REPORT provides detailed estimates and trend analysis on production, trafficking and consumption of various drugs. TRANSNATIONAL ORGANIZED CRIME THREAT ASSESSMENTS cover drugs, arms, trafficked women, toxic waste, stolen natural resources or protected animals' parts. International crime statistics from the 1970s, illicit crop monitoring from 2002.

Searchable database of each Federal award, providing the amount, name and location of the receiving entity, transaction type, funding agency, etc.

Food safety and prices, rural economy, commodity prices, food security, farm income... SEE ALSO https://www.nass.usda.gov/ - National Agricultural Statistics Service: Census of Agriculture, crops and livestock, prices, loans, environmental impacts, land use.

The Association of Religious Data Archives

At the STATE level: births, deaths, fertility and marriage statistics

From the World Bank; has downloadable and configurable data from both the World Development Indicators (WDI) and Global Development Finance (GDF) files.

The primary World Bank collection of development indicators, compiled from officially-recognized international sources. It presents the most current and accurate global development data available, and includes national, regional and global estimates.

From International Monetary Fund (IMF)

The Worldwide Governance Indicators (WGI) project reports aggregate and individual governance indicators for over 200 countries and territories over the period 1996–2018, for six dimensions of governance: Voice and Accountability, Political Stability and Absence of Violence, Government Effectiveness, Regulatory Quality, Rule of Law, Control of Corruption. Download data or use interactive data tools provided.

See also "data by country" at the World Bank (https://data.worldbank.org)

Historical and current distribution of wealth and incomes within and between countries.

Including but not limited to population, health, education, etc.; visualizations clearly lead to downloadable data.