Skip to main content

Engineering for Cold Regions

This guide provides a selection of books, databases, conference papers and other resources for research on engineering for cold regions.

Special Collections & Archives Materials

The list below represents a small selection of the works available in SC&A related to Arctic and Antarctic exploration. Narratives of most of the major expeditions since the 1700s are in the collections, as well as accounts of early explorations in the sixteenth and seventeenth centuries. The items below have been chosen based on the description of the course by Dr. Jennifer Bryan, Head of Special Collections & Archives.

Arctic

Scoresby, William.  An Account of the Arctic Regions with a History and Description of the Northern Whale-Fishery.  2 vols.  Edinburgh, 1820.   G742.S42 1820

Vol. 1 contains chapters: Hydrographical Survey of the Greenland Sea and An Account of the Greenland or Polar Ice.

Ross, John, Sir.  Appendix to the Narrative of a Second Voyage in Search of a North-West Passage and of a Residence in the Arctic Regions.  London, 1835.  Oversize G650 1829.R8 v.2

                Includes meteorological observations, analysis of fluids, and geology.

Edwin Jesse De Haven Papers, 1832-1928, MS 211 (available online through the USNA Digital Collections)

De Haven commanded the first Grinnell Expedition (1850) in search of Sir John Franklin’s expedition.  Includes position log and an inventory of supplies used by British Arctic Explorer Sir William Parry.

Scientific Results of the United States Arctic Expedition.  Washington, D.C., 1876 (Polaris Expedition under the command of Charles Francis Hall).  G670 1871.P77 1876 

Vol. 1 only (no more published), Physical Observations, by Emil Bessels. Includes hydrography, air temperature, hygrometrical observations, atmospheric pressure, winds, solar radiation, terrestrial radiation, and meteorological observations at sea.

Greely, A. W.  Three Years of Arctic Service.  2 vols.  New York, 1881  (Lady Franklin Bay Expedition).  G670 1881.G6 1886

Vol. 2 contains appendices on meteorology, atmosphere, temperatures, maximum thickness of salt-water ice. 

William Dixon Weaver Papers, 1876-1883, MS 276 (USNA 1880)

Served on the USS Yantic of the Greely Relief Expedition (1884).  Diary while on the Yantic and a scrapbook with clippings about the expedition.

Amundsen, Roald.  Roald Amundsen’s “The North West Passage.”  2 vols.  London, 1908.  G650 1903.A7 1908

                First successful navigation of the Northwest Passage

Leo Hewlett Thebaud Papers, 1880-1951, MS 227 (USNA 1913)

                Box 1, Folder 4 contains photographs of outposts in the Canadian arctic, 1949.

Antarctic

South Polar Times.  London, 2012.  G845.S68 2012

Facsimile edition of the publication created by the officers of the British National Antarctic Expedition, 1901-1904 (Robert Falcon Scott)

Shackleton, Ernest Henry.  The Heart of the Antarctic.  2 vols.  London, 1909. (British Antarctic Expedition, 1907-1909).  G850 1907.A32 1909.     

Vol. 1, chapter 1 describes the preparations for the expedition, including lists of foodstuffs, clothing, and scientific instruments, as well as descriptions of the Nimrod, the expedition’s ship, and the hut that was to be erected for the winter.  Volume 1 gives a description of life in winter quarters; vol. 2 contains appendices on the scientific results, including notes on ice and snow.

Mawson, Douglas.  The Home of the Blizzard.  2 vols. Philadelphia, 1915.  (Australasian Antarctic Expedition) G850 1911.M3 1915b

Vol. 1 provides a plan and section of the expedition’s ship (Aurora) with text regarding its fitting out for Antarctic exploration.

Byrd, Richard E.  Into the Home of the Blizzard.  New York, 1928?  Guggenheim G850 1928.A32 1928

                Bound with discussion of Byrd’s base ship and his Antarctic village

Poulter, Thomas Charles. Outline of the Scientific Accomplishments of the Byrd Antarctic Expedition II (1933-1935)G850 1933.P6 1936

Jeannette Monument

The above image of the Jeannette Monument is in the collection of the Special Collections & Archives Department, Nimitz Library, United States Naval Academy.


The Jeannette Monument, located at the USNA Cemetery, was built in memory of those who died as part of the Jeannette Arctic Exploring Expedition in 1881.

Hours

Modified hours

Until further notice, SC&A is closed along with the rest of Nimitz Library, but staff remains available by e-mail and phone to assist researchers.  Please use the contact information below.

SC&A is open Monday-Friday except federal holidays.

0800-1200 By appointment only
1200-1230 Closed for lunch
1230-1630 Open

Appointments & Contact

To make an appointment, please contact Dr. Jennifer Bryan at 410-293-6904 or send a message to bryan@usna.edu. For reference inquiries, please call 410-293-6917.