Skip to main content

Engineering for Cold Regions

This guide provides a selection of books, databases, conference papers and other resources for research on engineering for cold regions.

How to Find Conference Papers

Researchers report many new and novel procedures, process, products, and systems at conferences.  Major society conference papers or proceedings are available through their respective digital libraries, but others can be difficult to find. 

Didn't find the full text in the database?

  • First, try treating the name of the conference like a book title or author and searching it as keywords in our catalogThis will tell you if we have any proceedings from that conference in our print collection. 

  • Second, if you can't locate the conference, stop by the reference desk or contact the engineering librarian

  • Third, the library can try to get you a copy of the specific articles as an interlibrary loan

Professional Societies & Their Conferences

Various professional groups will sponsor or host technical conferences on specific topics. Here are some organizations related to cold regions engineering. If you cannot access the full text of items in the following publications then email the Engineering Librarian for help or submit a request through interlibrary loan.

American Society of Civil Engineers Cold Regions Engineering Division

  • The Cold Regions Engineering Division (formerly the Technical Council on Cold Regions Engineering (TCCRE)) was established in 1979 to assess and report effects of cold regions environments upon engineering design, construction and operations. It publishes books, conference proceedings (including those for the the International Conference on Cold Regions Engineering), and the Journal of Cold Regions Engineering. We have print copies of some conference proceedings and online full-text access for some journal articles via Academic Search Premier and Military & Government Collection.

American Society of Mechanical Engineers Ocean, Offshore, and Arctic Engineering Division

International Conference on Port and Ocean Engineering Under Arctic Conditions

  • While not a membership organization, the International Conference on Port and Ocean Engineering under Arctic Conditions (POAC) has been held every two years in different locations across the world. The conference aims to tackle unique ice-related problems applicable to coastal and offshore engineering in the Arctic and Antarctic. Full-text access to its conference proceedings is available here and we have some older print proceedings in our collection.

Other Helpful Conference Paper Resources

No Longer Need Your Copy of That Proceedings?

If you have attended a conference and no longer need the published proceedings, please consider donating it to the library. Contact the Engineering Librarian for details

It can be difficult for the library to locate and purchase copies of conference publications from smaller organizations and events after the meeting. We are especially interested in proceedings from conferences related to naval and ocean engineering.

Print Conference Proceedings

Here are a few print conference proceedings we have in Nimitz Library.