Research Guides: EN485B Engineering for Cold Regions: Books, News & Background Information

Background Information

Before diving into specific research questions and experiments, finding books and news sources can build foundational knowledge and give context to a subject.

Books

Search the library's collections to find books for your topic. Can't find the book you need? Ask a librarian for help.

You'll find:

Oceanography books in the GC section on the 2nd floor
Civil engineering books in the TA section on the 3rd floor
Ocean engineering books in the TC section on the 3rd floor
Naval architecture and marine engineering books in the VM section on the 3rd floor

Understanding the arctic sea floor for engineering purposes by National Research Council (U.S.). Committee on Arctic Seafloor Engineering
Call Number: GC380.5 .U54 1982a
Encyclopedia of the Arctic by Mark Nuttall (Editor)
Call Number: Ground Floor Reference Overflow G606 .E49 2005
Covers environmental science, anthropology, ecology, geology, archaeology and history, linguistics, meteorology, politics, economics, and cultural studies.
Encyclopedia of the Antarctic by Beau Riffenburgh (Editor)
Call Number: Ground Floor Reference Overflow G855 .E55 2007
Coverage includes political, legal, environmental, tourism, technological, and philosophical issues.
The Global Cryosphere by Roger Barry and Thian Yew Gan
Call Number: Third Floor QC880.4.C79 B37 2011
Provides a concise but comprehensive summary of snow cover, glaciers, ice sheets, lake and river ice, permafrost, sea ice and icebergs - their past history and projected future state.
Frozen Ground Engineering by Orlando B. Andersland and Branko Ladanyi
Call Number: Third Floor TA713 .A52 2004
Presents soil mechanics for frozen ground conditions and a variety of frozen ground support systems used on construction projects worldwide.
Frozen in Time by Siemon Wm. Muller
Call Number: Third Floor TA713 .M85 2008
Topics include basic scientific knowledge about perennially frozen ground and the engineering problems associated with it, the geography of permafrost, related elements of landscape science and ecology, periglacial geomorphology, and the physics of frozen ground.
Construction in Cold Regions: A guide for planners, engineers, contractors, and managers by Terry T. McFadden and F. Lawrence Bennett
Call Number: Third Floor TA713.M35 1991
A reference on effective engineering practice for construction activities in Arctic and Sub-Arctic regions.
Arctic Offshore Engineering by Andrew C. Palmer and Ken Croasdale
Call Number: Third Floor TC1665 .P35 2013
This item is available in print at the call number listed above and online via the book title link.
Roads and Airfields in Cold Regions by Ted S. Vinson, James W. Rooney and Wilbur H. Haas
Call Number: Third Floor TL725.3.C6 R63 1996
Discusses route-location/siting; frost action; design for permafrost conditions; low temperature cracking; maintenance; use of geosynthetics; and materials specifications and testing.
Under Ice: Waldo Lyon and the development of the Arctic submarine by William M. Leary and John H. Nicholson
Call Number: Third Floor V857.5 .L43 1999
This book is available in print at the call number listed above and online via the book title link.
Design and Construction of Vessels Operating in Low Temperature Environments by Royal Institution of Naval Architecture
Publication Date: 2007
A collection of papers presented at a 2007 RINA conference on shipbuilding for cold regions. Click the book title link to see the table of contents and access the papers.

News Resources

Military and Intelligence Database This link opens in a new window
This database includes science and technology magazines and news sources.
Provides access to scholarly journals, magazines, and reports covering all aspects of the past and current state of military affairs. The database offers content in key subject areas including governmental policies, the socioeconomic effects of war, the structure of the armed forces, and more.
Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
Provides access to full-text news, business, and legal publications. It includes deep backfiles and up-to-the-minute stories in national and regional newspapers, wire services, broadcast transcripts, international news, and non-English language sources. Use the included Company Dossier module to retrieve detailed company information and financial performance measures or identify and compare companies matching specific criteria. This product also provides access to the renowned Shepard's Citations service for all federal and states court cases back to 1789.
New York Times This link opens in a new window
Full-text coverage of the US newspaper of record. Offers superb coverage of national and international news, plus coverage of important speeches and documents, Supreme Court decisions, and presidential press conference transcripts.
New York Times Historical This link opens in a new window
Offers full page and article images with searchable full text back to the first issue (1851-2006). The collection includes digital reproductions providing access to every page from every available issue.
U.S. Major Dailies This link opens in a new window
Formerly National Newspapers.
Provides access to the Christian Science Monitor, The New York Times, the Wall Street Journal, and the Washington Post.

News Resources

Military and Intelligence Database This link opens in a new window
This database includes science and technology magazines and news sources.
Provides access to scholarly journals, magazines, and reports covering all aspects of the past and current state of military affairs. The database offers content in key subject areas including governmental policies, the socioeconomic effects of war, the structure of the armed forces, and more.
Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
Provides access to full-text news, business, and legal publications. It includes deep backfiles and up-to-the-minute stories in national and regional newspapers, wire services, broadcast transcripts, international news, and non-English language sources. Use the included Company Dossier module to retrieve detailed company information and financial performance measures or identify and compare companies matching specific criteria. This product also provides access to the renowned Shepard's Citations service for all federal and states court cases back to 1789.
New York Times This link opens in a new window
Full-text coverage of the US newspaper of record. Offers superb coverage of national and international news, plus coverage of important speeches and documents, Supreme Court decisions, and presidential press conference transcripts.
New York Times Historical This link opens in a new window
Offers full page and article images with searchable full text back to the first issue (1851-2006). The collection includes digital reproductions providing access to every page from every available issue.
U.S. Major Dailies This link opens in a new window
Formerly National Newspapers.
Provides access to the Christian Science Monitor, The New York Times, the Wall Street Journal, and the Washington Post.

Search Tips

Save time with these search tips in the catalog, most databases and even Google.

Tip	Example
Join different concepts with AND	arctic AND engineering
Join similar concepts with OR	(arctic OR cold) AND engineering
Use * (asterisk) to find variations of your keyword	engineer* finds engineer, engineering, engineers, engineered