Research Guides: EN485B Engineering for Cold Regions: Journal Articles & Databases

Journals on Engineering for Cold Regions

Journal of Offshore Mechanics and Arctic Engineering

Access full-text content from 01/01/2000 to present in the ASME Digital Collection.
Access content from 1990 to 2011 in the Nimitz Library Print Collection.
For content from 1987-1989, request papers via interlibrary loan.

Journal of Cold Regions Engineering

Abstracts are available at the journal's homepage.
Access full-text content from 03/01/1995 to 03/31/2014 in Academic Search Premier and Military & Government Collection.
For other years, request papers via interlibrary loan.

International Journal of Offshore and Polar Engineering

Abstracts are available at the journal's homepage.
Access content from 1996 to Present in the Nimitz Library Print Collection.
For content from 1991-1995, request papers via interlibrary loan.

Cold Regions Science and Technology

Abstracts are available at the journal's homepage.
Access full-text content from 1995 to 2011 in Torpedo - Elsevier Science.
For other years, request papers via interlibrary loan.

Databases

Find abstracts and full-text versions of journal articles on specific research studies and experiments in these databases. They cover content in engineering, oceanography, and other related areas of study.

Engineering Village (Compendex and Inspec) This link opens in a new window
A comprehensive bibliographic database of scientific and technical engineering research available, covering all engineering disciplines. It includes millions of bibliographic citations and abstracts from thousands of engineering journals and conference proceedings.
Home of engineering databases, Compendex and Inspec, Engineering Village includes journals, conference proceedings, dissertations, technical standards, trade magazines, technical reports and engineering information

The COLD Database
The COLD Database is comprised of the USPA Permafrost Alert Program (2011 - Present), the Bibliography on Cold Regions Science and Technology (1900-2011), and the Antarctic Bibliography (1950-2011).
The Ice Jam Database
The Ice Jam Database is maintained by the Ice Engineering Group at the Cold Regions Research and Engineering Laboratory and currently consists of tens of thousands of records from across the US. The Ice Jam Database application contains several tools for accessing information about both historic and current ice jams, and relate information about the processes involved in the formation of an ice jam.

Advanced Technologies & Aerospace Database (Proquest) This link opens in a new window
Provides access to Aerospace Database, Electronics & Communications Abstracts, Computer Science Collection, Solid State and Superconductivity Abstracts, and more.
The collection contains advanced technology related full-text articles, granular access to millions of figures and tables within articles, and the entire range of bibliographic records from the Advanced Technologies Database with Aerospace (ATDWA). ATDWA brings together the most comprehensive bibliographic coverage of research, emerging technologies, applications and companies in the areas of aeronautics, astronautics, computer & information technology, electronics, communications, solid state devices and space sciences.
Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new window
Includes full-text coverage in biology, chemistry, economics, engineering, physics, political science, psychology, religion & theology, as well as other subject areas.
Includes full-text coverage in biology, chemistry, economics, engineering, physics, political science, psychology, religion & theology, as well as other subject areas.
Agricultural & Environmental Science Database (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
Provides access to Ecology Abstracts, Environment Abstracts, Environmental Engineering Abstracts, Environmental Impact Statements, Pollution Abstracts, and more.
Includes Aqualine, Environmental Engineering Abstracts, Pollution Abstracts and more!
ASFA: Aquatic Sciences and Fisheries Abstracts (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
Provides access to Aquatic Science and Fisheries Abstracts (ASFA), the premier database in the aquatic sciences; Oceanic Abstracts; Water Resources Abstracts; and more.
ASFA, Oceanic Abstracts and more.
Earth, Atmospheric & Aquatic Science Database This link opens in a new window
Provides access to both the ASFA: Aquatic Sciences and Fisheries Abstracts database and the Meteorological & Geophysical Abstracts database.
Provides abstracts and some full text for articles in the Atmospheric, Aquatic and Geosciences. Includes ASFA & Meteorological and Geophysical Abstracts.
Natural Science Collection (Proquest) This link opens in a new window
Provides extensive coverage of the literature in agriculture, aquatic science, atmospherics, biology, geology, earth science, and environmental science.
This database includes natural science content from searchable tables, figures, graphs, charts and other illustrations from the scholarly research and technical literature by employing ?deep indexing?. Search results can be viewed in full, in either thumbnail or enhanced format, along with the caption, author and source information and additional index terms that can be used for further searching. A link back to the parent record provides a summary view of all the objects associated with that paper.

Find Articles with the Blue Button

Found a blue Find It @ USNA button instead of a full article?

Click the button to see if we have access to the article elsewhere.

Find it at USNA button

If you can't access the full article then use interlibrary loan to request it and we'll get it for you.

Pro Tip

When using Nimitz Search, try ticking the Expand My Results box on the results screen. Doing this will retrieve information for items that we do not own and can request for you via interlibrary loan.

Legend

The following icons are used in the resources lists:

	Resource is available only to USNA midshipmen, faculty, and staff.
	Not all content is available to USNA midshipmen, faculty, and staff.
	Password required. Contact the Reference desk, 3-6946, for login information.
	Content not fully available in Nimitz Search. Try searching this database on its own.
Best Bet	Resource is an excellent all-purpose starting point for the selected subject.
	Available after logging in to the DoD MWR Digital Library.
	Some full text downloads may require installation of Adobe Digital Editions.