Skip to main content

Special Collections & Archives

The rare or unique holdings of Nimitz Library.

About SC&A

The Special Collections & Archives Department (SC&A) of Nimitz Library contains rare books, manuscripts, photographs, and other documents, as well as the official records (archives) of the U.S. Naval Academy. They are available for use by the midshipmen, faculty, and staff of the Naval Academy and by other researchers upon request.

SC&A is located on Nimitz Library's third deck where researchers may use the material in the 24-seat Annapolis Room (material cannot be checked out or leave the Annapolis Room). Staff will retrieve collection material from the closed shelving area at the researcher's request. Advanced notice of at least 24 hours will be needed for architectural drawings and map requests.

The staff of SC&A is happy to collaborate with faculty to create course-specific assignments/projects utilizing parts of the collection and host class sessions in the Annapolis Room to provide guidance and research time to midshipmen.  Contact Dr. Bryan for more information.

Location

SC&A is located in the Annapolis Room on the third deck of Nimitz Library closest to Hopper Hall. Take the elevator by the main entrance up to the third floor and turn right and right again. The Annapolis Room is to the left of the painting of Admiral Nimitz.

Hours

SC&A is open to Naval Academy midshipmen, faculty, and staff Monday-Friday except federal holidays.

0800-1630 By appointment only

Appointments & Contact

To make an appointment, please contact Dr. Jennifer Bryan at 410-293-6904 or send a message to bryan@usna.edu. For reference inquiries, please call 410-293-6917.

Staff

 

Jennifer A. Bryan, Head of Special Collections & Archives/Archivist
Ph.D., University of Maryland
(410) 293-6904
bryan@usna.edu

David A. D'Onofrio, Special Collections Librarian
M.L.I.S., Rutgers University
(410) 293-6912
donofrio@usna.edu

Adam Minakowski, Reference/Special Collections Librarian
M.L.S., University of Maryland
(410) 293-6931
minakows@usna.edu

Samuel J. Limneos, Assistant Archivist
M.L.I.S., Drexel University
(410) 293-6922
limneos@usna.edu