Research Guides: Special Collections & Archives: Main

About SC&A

The Special Collections & Archives Department (SC&A) of Nimitz Library contains rare books, manuscripts, photographs, and other documents, as well as the official records (archives) of the U.S. Naval Academy. They are available for use by the midshipmen, faculty, and staff of the Naval Academy and by other researchers upon request.

SC&A is located on Nimitz Library's third deck where researchers may use the material in the 24-seat Annapolis Room (material cannot be checked out or leave the Annapolis Room). Staff will retrieve collection material from the closed shelving area at the researcher's request. Advanced notice of at least 24 hours will be needed for architectural drawings and map requests.

The staff of SC&A is happy to collaborate with faculty to create course-specific assignments/projects utilizing parts of the collection and host class sessions in the Annapolis Room to provide guidance and research time to midshipmen. Contact Dr. Bryan for more information.

Digital Collections

Only a small portion of SC&A's material has been digitized, but that material is available to everyone online. Select topics include

Civil War letters & papers Daniel D.T. Nestell Papers Francis A. Osbourn Papers John E. Hart Letters	Midshipmen journals & letters Josiah G. Beckwith Letters Roscoe C. Bulmer Journal William Frederick Durand Journal John Porter Merrell Johnston Letters Henry Mylin Kieffer Scrapbook Richard Mueller Nixon Letters
USNA publications Annual Register of the U.S. Naval Academy Class Photograph Albums The Lucky Bag (yearbook) Naval Academy Catalog Sermons	USNA photos Buildings & Grounds More Buildings & Grounds (1861-1904) Midshipmen (including athletics) More Midshipmen (1893) Superintendents Faculty & Staff Advisory Groups
World War II battle reports, propaganda & photos Naval Battle Reports & Analyses American Propaganda in Japan Japanese Propaganda in the Philippines C.H. Paulsen Papers Combat Photographs	USNA history Naval Academy History The Somers Affair Army-Navy Football

Location

SC&A is located in the Annapolis Room on the third deck of Nimitz Library closest to Hopper Hall. Take the elevator by the main entrance up to the third floor and turn right and right again. The Annapolis Room is to the left of the painting of Admiral Nimitz.

Hours

SC&A will be open by appointment only 11 Dec. - 6 Jan. and closed 23-27 Dec.

SC&A is open Monday-Friday except federal holidays.

0800-1200 By appointment only

1230-1630 By appointment only

Appointments & Contact

To make an appointment, please contact Dr. Jennifer Bryan at 410-293-6904 or send a message to bryan@usna.edu. For reference inquiries, please call 410-293-6917.

Staff

Jennifer A. Bryan, Head of Special Collections & Archives/Archivist
Ph.D., University of Maryland
(410) 293-6904
bryan@usna.edu

Adam Minakowski, Assistant Archivist
M.L.S., University of Maryland
(410) 293-6931
minakows@usna.edu

Jessica Scott, Assistant Archivist
M.S.I., University of Michigan
(410) 293-6922
jescott@usna.edu

Policies

Rules for using SC&A materials

Reproduction policy