Research Guides: Weapons, Robotics and Control Engineering: Search in Popular Press & Trade Publications

Google Site Searching

Limit your Google search to a specific domain, such as .mil, .gov or .edu, to ensure you are accessing quality information from trusted sources.

Simply add: site:. and the domain to the end of your search in the Google search box. For example: robots site:.mil will return only information about robots from U.S. military websites.

screenshot of google search box

You can also use this type of search on a specific website; adding site:.navy.mil will return information specifically from Navy military websites.

News & Analysis

Academic OneFile This link opens in a new window
Source for peer-reviewed, full-text articles from the world's leading journals and reference sources. Offers extensive coverage of the physical sciences, technology, medicine, social sciences, the arts, theology, literature and other subjects.
Source for peer-reviewed, full-text articles from the world's leading journals and reference sources. Offers extensive coverage of the physical sciences, technology, medicine, social sciences, the arts, theology, literature and other subjects.
Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new window
Use the Source Types filter to narrow down your search to trade publication sources.
Includes full-text coverage in biology, chemistry, economics, engineering, physics, political science, psychology, religion & theology, as well as other subject areas.
Advanced Technologies & Aerospace Database (Proquest) This link opens in a new window
Provides full-text titles from around the world, including scholarly journals, trade and industry journals, magazines, technical reports, conference proceeding, dissertations, and government publications. Topics covered include aeronautics, astronautics, communications, computer and information technology, electronics, lasers, solid-state materials and devices, space sciences, and telecommunications.
The collection contains advanced technology related full-text articles, granular access to millions of figures and tables within articles, and the entire range of bibliographic records from the Advanced Technologies Database with Aerospace (ATDWA). ATDWA brings together the most comprehensive bibliographic coverage of research, emerging technologies, applications and companies in the areas of aeronautics, astronautics, computer & information technology, electronics, communications, solid state devices and space sciences.
New York Times This link opens in a new window
Full-text coverage of the US newspaper of record. Offers superb coverage of national and international news, plus coverage of important speeches and documents, Supreme Court decisions, and presidential press conference transcripts.
Full-text coverage of the US newspaper of record. Offers superb coverage of national and international news, plus coverage of important speeches and documents, Supreme Court decisions, and presidential press conference transcripts.
New York Times Historical This link opens in a new window
Offers full page and article images with searchable full text back to the first issue (1851-2006). The collection includes digital reproductions providing access to every page from every available issue.
Offers full page and article images with searchable full text back to the first issue (1851-2006). The collection includes digital reproductions providing access to every page from every available issue.
U.S. Major Dailies This link opens in a new window
Provides access to the Christian Science Monitor, The New York Times, the Wall Street Journal, and the Washington Post.
Provides access to the Christian Science Monitor, The New York Times, the Wall Street Journal, and the Washington Post.

Industry Information

ThomasNet
Use ThomasNet for locating parts and product information, drawings and industry news.
GlobalSpec
REQUIRES FREE REGISTRATION - GlobalSpec provides information on products and suppliers.
MatWeb: The Online Materials Information Resource
MatWeb provides detailed information on the properties of different materials such as boiling point, density and strength properties.
Nimitz Library advanced search
This one-stop shop includes content from many news and trade publications we have, like NexisUni.