Research Guides: Weapons, Robotics and Control Engineering: Take a Deep Dive with Journal Articles & Conference Papers

Search Tips

Save time with these search tips in the book catalog, most article databases and even Google.

Tip	Example
Join different concepts with AND	airplane and robot
Join similar concepts with OR	airplane and (robot or unmanned)
Use * (asterisk) to find variations of your keyword	robot* finds robot, robots, robotic, robotics

Where to Find Conference Papers & Journal Articles

These collections contain abstracts and the full text of conference papers and journal articles. If you find a document in a database and you can't access the full text, email the engineering librarian or submit an interlibrary loan request.

IEEE Xplore This link opens in a new window
A digital library providing full text access to IEEE journals, transactions, magazines, letters, conference proceedings, standards, and IET (Institution of Engineering and Technology) publications.
A digital library providing full text access to the world's highest quality technical literature in electrical engineering, computer science, and electronics. IEEE Xplore contains full text documents from IEEE journals, transactions, magazines, letters, conference proceedings, standards, and IET (Institution of Engineering and Technology) publications.
Advanced Technologies & Aerospace Database (Proquest) This link opens in a new window
A collection of full text and index collections covering engineering, advanced technologies and aerospace topics. It's a great place to get started looking for full text articles on your topic.
The collection contains advanced technology related full-text articles, granular access to millions of figures and tables within articles, and the entire range of bibliographic records from the Advanced Technologies Database with Aerospace (ATDWA). ATDWA brings together the most comprehensive bibliographic coverage of research, emerging technologies, applications and companies in the areas of aeronautics, astronautics, computer & information technology, electronics, communications, solid state devices and space sciences.
Engineering Village (Compendex) This link opens in a new window
A comprehensive bibliographic database of scientific and technical engineering research available, covering all engineering disciplines. It includes millions of bibliographic citations and abstracts from thousands of engineering journals and conference proceedings.
A comprehensive bibliographic database of scientific and technical engineering research available, covering all engineering disciplines. It includes millions of bibliographic citations and abstracts from thousands of engineering journals and conference proceedings.
ACM Digital Library This link opens in a new window
Provides citations, abstracts, reviews and the full text of articles published in Association for Computing Machinery (ACM) periodicals and conference proceedings.
Provides citations, abstracts, reviews and the full text of articles published in Association for Computing Machinery (ACM) periodicals and conference proceedings.
Aerospace Research Central (AIAA) This link opens in a new window
We have full-text online access to most of the past few years of research journals. The AIAA's Aerospace Research Central search is also an index to Meeting Papers, Standards and other information.
AIAA American Institute of Aeronautics and Astronautics is the leading research body for aeronautics. We have full-text online access to most of the past few years of research journals. The AIAA's Aerospace Research Central search is also an index to Meeting Papers, Standards and other information. We have print versions of many of the conferences (discover it in AIAA, obtain it from our print collection).

How to Find Conference Papers

Researchers report many new and novel procedures, process, products, and systems at conferences. Major society conferences, like IEEE and ACM, are available through their respective digital libraries, but others can be difficult to find.

Didn't find the full text in the database?

First, try treating the name of the conference like a book title or author and searching it as keywords in Nimitz Search. This will tell you if we have any proceedings from that conference in our print collection.
Second, if you can't locate the conference paper, contact the engineering librarian
Third, the library can try to get you a copy of the specific articles as an interlibrary loan.

Google Scholar

Use Google Scholar to search for articles, conference papers and books on your topic.

Find a useful article? Click the Cited By link to see a list of articles that used your original article in its references list. It's a helpful way to see what research has come after your original article was published.

Find the Whole Article

Found a blue Find It @ USNA button instead of a full article?

Click the button to see if we have access to the article elsewhere.

Find it at USNA button

If you cannot access the full text of a document, use interlibrary loan to request it.

Legend

The following icons are used in the resources lists:

	Resource is available only to USNA midshipmen, faculty, and staff.
	Not all content is available to USNA midshipmen, faculty, and staff.
	Password required. Contact the Reference desk, 3-6946, for login information.
	Content not fully available in Nimitz Search. Try searching this database on its own.
Best Bet	Resource is an excellent all-purpose starting point for the selected subject.
	Available after logging in to the DoD MWR Digital Library.
	Some full text downloads may require installation of Adobe Digital Editions.