Research Guides: HH215 The West in the Premodern World: Find Articles

Find Articles

Use the databases listed here to identify articles on your subject. In many cases, you can link to the full-text of the articles.

If you can't directly retrieve the full-text, select the blue Find It button under the article citation or check the Journals by Title link in the column on the right to see if we have access from another source or if the journal is print only and not online at all.

History Databases

Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new window
This general database is a good starting point, but it is very interdisciplinary and not specifically history oriented.
Includes full-text coverage in biology, chemistry, economics, engineering, physics, political science, psychology, religion & theology, as well as other subject areas.
Historical Abstracts (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Covers the history of the world (excluding the United States and Canada) from 1450 to the present, including world history, military history, women's history, and more, published since 1954. It is not completely full-text.
Covers the history of the world (excluding the United States and Canada) from 1450 to the present, including world history, military history, women's history, history of education, and more.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
JSTOR offers a high-quality, interdisciplinary archive. It includes archives of over one thousand leading academic journals across the humanities, social sciences, and sciences, including history, as well as select monographs and other materials valuable for academic work.
JSTOR offers a high-quality, multidisciplinary archive to support scholarship and teaching. It includes archives of over one thousand leading academic journals across the humanities, social sciences, and sciences, as well as select monographs and other materials valuable for academic work. The entire corpus is full-text searchable, offers search term highlighting, includes high-quality images, and is interlinked by millions of citations and references.
Project MUSE This link opens in a new window
An interdisciplinary collection of e-journals in the arts, humanities, and social sciences. These titles cover a variety of subjects with a focus on literature, political science, history and culture.

Anatomy of a Scholarly Article

Use this link for an explanation of the parts of a scholarly journal article.

https://www.lib.ncsu.edu/tutorials/scholarly-articles/

Examples of Scholarly Journals

These are examples of relevant scholarly journals to which Nimitz Library subscribes. Check the Journals by Title link in the column on the right for specific dates or to link to online content.

Classical Quarterly
Early Medieval Europe
Exemplaria
Historical Research
Journal of Hellenic Studies
Journal of Medieval History
Journal of Medieval Military History
Journal of Roman Studies
Journal of the History of Philosophy
Mediaeval Studies
Religious Studies
Renaissance Quarterly
Speculum
Transactions of the American Philological Association

Legend

The following icons are used in the resources lists:

	Resource is available only to USNA midshipmen, faculty, and staff.
	Not all content is available to USNA midshipmen, faculty, and staff.
	Password required. Contact the Reference desk, 3-6946, for login information.
	Content not fully available in Nimitz Search. Try searching this database on its own.
Best Bet	Resource is an excellent all-purpose starting point for the selected subject.
	Available after logging in to the DoD MWR Digital Library.
	Some full text downloads may require installation of Adobe Digital Editions.

Find Journals by Title

Journals by Title
Use this link to verify our print, electronic, or microform access to a specific journal, magazine, or newspaper title.

Interlibrary Loan

Interlibrary Loan (USNA only)
Use this link to submit a request for an article not available in Nimitz Library either electronically or in print.

You must register yourself the first time you use this service.

USNA faculty may request Local Article Delivery Service (LADS) from the same link.