Research Guides: HH104 American Naval History: Find Articles

Major History Databases

America: History & Life (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Index to scholarly literature on the history of the United States and Canada from prehistory to the present. It provides access to articles, books, and dissertations published since 1964, but it is not completely full-text.
Index to scholarly literature on the history of the United States and Canada from prehistory to the present. It provides access to articles, books, and dissertations published since 1964.
Historical Abstracts (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Covers the history of the world (excluding the United States and Canada) from 1450 to the present, including world history, military history, women's history, and more, published since 1954. It is not completely full-text.
Covers the history of the world (excluding the United States and Canada) from 1450 to the present, including world history, military history, women's history, history of education, and more.

Other Databases

Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new window
This general database is a good starting point, but it is very interdisciplinary and not specifically history oriented.
Includes full-text coverage in biology, chemistry, economics, engineering, physics, political science, psychology, religion & theology, as well as other subject areas.
Air University Library Index to Military Periodicals This link opens in a new window
Provides citations to military periodicals from 1988-present.
American History in Video This link opens in a new window
A collection of video available online for the study of American history. This collection allows students and researchers to analyze historical events, and their presentation over time, through commercial and governmental newsreels, archival footage, public affairs footage, and important documentaries.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
JSTOR offers a high-quality, interdisciplinary archive. It includes archives of over one thousand leading academic journals across the humanities, social sciences, and sciences, including history, as well as select monographs and other materials valuable for academic work.
JSTOR offers a high-quality, multidisciplinary archive to support scholarship and teaching. It includes archives of over one thousand leading academic journals across the humanities, social sciences, and sciences, as well as select monographs and other materials valuable for academic work. The entire corpus is full-text searchable, offers search term highlighting, includes high-quality images, and is interlinked by millions of citations and references.
Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
Provides access to full-text news, business, and legal publications. It includes deep backfiles and up-to-the-minute stories in national and regional newspapers, wire services, broadcast transcripts, international news, and non-English language sources. Use the included Company Dossier module to retrieve detailed company information and financial performance measures or identify and compare companies matching specific criteria. This product also provides access to the renowned Shepard's Citations service for all federal and states court cases back to 1789.
Project MUSE This link opens in a new window
An interdisciplinary collection of e-journals in the arts, humanities, and social sciences. These titles cover a variety of subjects with a focus on literature, political science, history and culture.
ProQuest Congressional This link opens in a new window
Formerly Lexis-Nexis Congressional. This collection includes the full text of congressional publications, finding aids, a bill tracking service, and the full text of public laws and other research materials to enable both novice and experienced researchers to complete many types of research projects using a single, user-friendly interface. Since Congress is interested in all public policy, social, and economic issues, the database is an effective source for general research in many academic disciplines, in addition to research related to specific legislative proposals and laws.

Congressional publications: CRS reports 1916-2003-- Hearings 1824-2003-- House & Senate documents 1817-1969-- House & Senate reports 1817-1969-- Serial set 1789-2003-- Serial set maps 1789-2007 -- Executive Branch documents 1789-1942.
Reader's Guide Retrospective This link opens in a new window
This database covers the years 1890 through 1982 but does not link into the full-text of the articles. Check the Journals by Title page on the right to see if we have online access from another source or if it's a print-only title. For an index of articles back to 1802, check Poole's Index on Reference Table 2.
Contains comprehensive indexing of the most popular general-interest periodicals published in the United States and reflects the history of 20th century America. The complete database covers the years 1890 through 1982.
Supreme Court Collection This link opens in a new window
Contains all Supreme Court decisions full-text, biographies of Supreme Court justices, and the U. S. Constitution. The system also has useful "Cases in Context" for interesting public policy topics such as Capital Punishment, Federalism and Abortion.

18th and 19th Century Periodicals

Titles in blue link to some online access. Titles with no location are print bound volumes shelved alphabetically on the 2nd floor. Titles on microfilm are in the Microform Room on the 1st floor. Titles in Special Collections are in that area on the 3rd floor.

Analetic Magazine, 1812-1820, Special Collections
Appleton's Journal, 1869-1881
Army and Navy Chronicle, 1835-1844, Special Collections
Army and Navy Journal, 1863-1950, microfilm or Special Collections
Army and Navy Magazine, 1880-1888, Special Collections
Army and Navy Register (title varies), 1879-1964, bound volumes or microfilm
Blackwood's Magazine, 1843-1863 online; 1817-1865 in Special Collections; 1866-1908 in bound volumes
Century Magazine, 1881-1899 online; 1881-1930 in bound volumes
Contemporary Review, 1871-1983
De Bows Review, 1846-1869 online; 1850-1880 on microfilm
Dial, 1880-1929
Douglass Monthly, 1859-1863
Eclectic Magazine, 1856-1875, Special Collections
Edinburgh Review, 1802-1929, bound volumes or microfilm
Fortnightly Review, 1871-1954
Gentleman's Magazine, 1731-1750 online; 1731-1866, Special Collections
Graphic, 1869-1932
Harper's Magazine (or Harper's Monthly), 1850-1899 online; 1850 to present in bound volumes
Harper's Weekly, 1857-1916, on microfilm
Illustrated London News, 1856-2003
Independent (N.Y.), 1892-1928, on microfilm
Journal of the United States Artillery, 1892-1918
Knickerbocker Magazine, 1833-1865, on microfilm
Liberator, 1831-1865, on microfilm
Lippincott's Monthly Magazine, 1868-1900, bound volumes or microfilm
Living Age, 1844-1900 online; 1844-1941 in bound volumes
London & Edinburgh Philosophical Magazine, 1832-1840, Special Collections
Munsey's Magazine, 1891-1929, on microfilm
Naval Chronicle, 1799-1818, bound volumes or Special Collections
New Englander, 1843-1892
Niles Register, 1811-1849, microfiche or Special Collections
North American Review, 1815-1900 online; 1815 to present in bound volumes
Overland Monthly, 1868-1900 online; 1868-1935 in bound volumes
Princeton Review, 1830-1882
Quarterly Review, 1809-1967
Review of Reviews, 1890-1937
Royal United Service Institution (RUSI) Journal, 1857 to present
Sailor's Magazine, 1828-1892, Special Collections
Scribner's Magazine, 1887-1896 online; 1887-1939 in bound volumes
Scribner's Monthly, 1870-1881
Spectator, 1871 to present, bound volumes or microfilm
United Service Magazine, 1829-1920
United States Magazine and Democratic Review,1837-1859
United States Naval Institute Proceedings, 1874 to present, bound volumes or microfilm (online only since 1997)
Westminster Review, 1866-1913

Find Articles

Use the databases listed here to identify articles on your subject. In many cases, you can link to the full-text of the articles.

If you can't directly retrieve the full-text, select the blue Find It button under the article citation or check the Journals by Title link in the column on the right to see if we have access from another source.

Anatomy of a Scholarly Article

Use this link for an explanation of the parts of a scholarly journal article.

https://www.lib.ncsu.edu/tutorials/scholarly-articles/

U.S. Naval Institute Proceedings

There is a particular publication which may have useful articles for naval history topics. It is called:

United States Naval Institute Proceedings

Online access is only since 1997, but we have all the issues back to 1879. Print copies of these issues are shelved with the bound periodicals on the second floor, alphabetically by title (e. g. this is filed under "U" for United States....)

While current military databases index recent issues, there is a single volume print index for these early issues. It is located on Reference Table 1 and will give you citation details to find an article in the print volumes.

Or if you check bibliographies in books you use, you'll often see this listed as a source.

Legend

The following icons are used in the resources lists:

	Resource is available only to USNA midshipmen, faculty, and staff.
	Not all content is available to USNA midshipmen, faculty, and staff.
	Password required. Contact the Reference desk, 3-6946, for login information.
	Content not fully available in Nimitz Search. Try searching this database on its own.
Best Bet	Resource is an excellent all-purpose starting point for the selected subject.
	Available after logging in to the DoD MWR Digital Library.
	Some full text downloads may require installation of Adobe Digital Editions.

Interlibrary Loan

Interlibrary Loan (USNA only)
Use this link to submit a request for an article not available in Nimitz Library either electronically or in print.

You must register yourself the first time you use this service.

USNA faculty may request Local Article Delivery Service (LADS) from the same link.

Find Journals by Title

Journals by Title
Use this link to verify our print, electronic, or microform access to a specific journal, magazine, or newspaper title.