Research Guides: HH104 American Naval History: Military Leader Biography

Biography Resources

Admirals of the World: A Biographical Dictionary, 1500 to the Present (Ref V61.S74 2009)
African American National Biography, 8 vols. (Ref E185.96.A4466 2008)
African Americans in the Military (Ref U52.R42 2010)
Amazons to Fighter Pilots: A Biographical Dictionary of Military Women, 2 vols. (Ref U52.A43 2003)
American Military Leaders: From Colonial Times to Present

American National Biography This link opens in a new window
Offers portraits of more than 17,400 men and women from all eras and walks of life - whose lives have shaped the nation.

American Revolutionary War Leaders: A Biographical Dictionary (Ref E206.H266 2009)
American Secretaries of the Navy, 2 vols. (Ref VB23.A57)
Biographies in Naval History (NHHC)
The Chiefs of Naval Operations [through 1980] (Ref VA58.C47)
Commandants of the Marine Corps [through 1983] (Ref VE24.C65 2004)
Dictionary of Admirals in the U.S. Navy, through 1918, 2 vols. (Ref V11.U7C69 1989)
Dictionary of American Biography, 11 vols. (Ground Floor Overflow E176.D563)
Dictionary of American Military Biography, 3 vols. (Ref U52.D53 1984)
Famous American Admirals (Ref V62.R48 2002)
Great Lives from History
Great Military Leaders and Their Campaigns (Oversize U51.G74 2008)
The Harper Encyclopedia of Military Biography (Ref U51.D87 1992)
Historic World Leaders, 5 vols. (D412.H57 1994)
Home Front Heroes: A Biographical Dictionary of Americans During Wartime, 3 vols. (Ref E181.H755 2006)
National Cyclopaedia of American Biography, 77 vols. (Ground Floor Overflow E176.N29)

Oxford Dictionary of National Biography This link opens in a new window
(Includes mostly British / UK persons only)
Includes biographies of people who shaped the history of the British Isles and beyond, from the earliest times to the year 2003.

Quarterdeck and Bridge: Two Centuries of American Naval Leaders (Ref E182.Q37 1997)
U.S. Marine Corps Biographical Dictionary (Ref E182.S39)
U.S. Navy Biographical Dictionary (Ref E182.S45)
Who's Who in Naval History: From 1550 to the Present (Ref V61.W54 2004)