Research Guides: Political Science: Newspapers

Newspapers online at Nimitz

You can search these by keyword the way you would any other database or limit by date (select On the Date under Publication Date to browse the day's paper, for instance

Current

Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
State Newspapers and news transcripts found here.
Provides access to full-text news, business, and legal publications. It includes deep backfiles and up-to-the-minute stories in national and regional newspapers, wire services, broadcast transcripts, international news, and non-English language sources. Use the included Company Dossier module to retrieve detailed company information and financial performance measures or identify and compare companies matching specific criteria. This product also provides access to the renowned Shepard's Citations service for all federal and states court cases back to 1789.
U.S. Major Dailies This link opens in a new window
Formerly National Newspapers.
Provides access to the Christian Science Monitor, The New York Times, the Wall Street Journal, and the Washington Post.
New York Times This link opens in a new window
Full-text coverage of the US newspaper of record. Offers superb coverage of national and international news, plus coverage of important speeches and documents, Supreme Court decisions, and presidential press conference transcripts.
Wall Street Journal - text only This link opens in a new window
1959 - present.
The financial newspaper of record offering in-depth coverage of national and international finance as well as first rate coverage of hard news.
Washington Post This link opens in a new window
Coverage of national, international, and local news. The Washington Post is renowned for its political reporting, editorials and columnists.

Historical

New York Times Historical This link opens in a new window
Begins 1851.
Offers full page and article images with searchable full text back to the first issue (1851-2006). The collection includes digital reproductions providing access to every page from every available issue.
Washington Post Historical This link opens in a new window
A historical daily newspaper with coverage of national, international, and local news. The Washington Post is renowned for its political reporting, editorials and columnists.