Research Guides: EA401F Performance of Fixed-Wing Aircraft: Warbirds Project: Get Started With Background Information on Vintage Aircraft

Getting Started: General Books on Aircraft

Below you'll find a small selection of Nimitz Library's books on military aircraft. These books contain technical information for different types of aircraft in one title, much like an encyclopedia. Use the index of a book to find the specific pages where your assigned aircraft is mentioned.

Nimitz Library has many more books on historic aircraft. Check out the Search Tips for ways to find information on your aircraft efficiently, then use the Library Catalogue to search for books.

Books in the list below with a call number are print books located in Nimitz Library. Books without a call number are available online.

Jane's All the World's Aircraft
Call Number: TL501 .J3
This resource is published annually. Our collection of Jane's All the World's Aircraft goes back to the first 1909 volume. Look for a volume corresponding to a year your assigned aircraft was in service.
Encyclopedia of World Military Aircraft by David Donald, Jon Lake
Call Number: TL685.3 .E52 1994
This book contains two volumes.
United States Military Aircraft Since 1909 by Gordon Swangorough; Peter M. Bowers
Call Number: UG1243.S9 1989
The library has three copies of this book.
Aircraft of World War II: A visual encyclopedia by Michael Sharpe, Dan March, Jerry Scutts
Call Number: Third Floor Oversize UG1240 .S527 2001
This book is in the oversize collection located on the third floor. Look for the last bookshelves at the College Creek side of the library to find it.
Complete Book of World War II Combat Aircraft by Enzo Ancelucci
Call Number: Third Floor Oversize UG1240.A4116 1988
This book is in the oversize collection located on the third floor. Look for the last bookshelves at the College Creek side of the library to find it.
Warbirds: An illustrated guide to U.S. military aircraft, 1915-2000 by John C. Fredriksen
Call Number: UG1240 .F74 1999
This book is available online at the link above. The library holds two print copies. One is on the third floor and one is in the reference collection.
War Planes of the Second World War by William Green with drawings by Denis I. Punnett
Call Number: TL685.3 .G728 1968
This book contains 10 volumes: V. 1-4. Fighters; V. 5. Flying boats; V. 6. Floatplanes; V. 7-10. Bombers and reconnaissance aircraft.

EA401F Performance of Fixed-Wing Aircraft: Warbirds Project

Getting Started: General Books on Aircraft

Avro Lancaster

P-51 Mustang

Chat with a Librarian