Research Guides: HH216 The West in the Modern World: Find Books

Library Catalog

Search the library catalog to identify books, audiovisuals, and more on your topic.

These are common call number areas you are likely to find:

B -- philosophy and religion
C -- civilizations in general
D -- world history, especially DA (England), DF (ancient Greece), and DG (ancient Rome)
N -- art and architecture
PA -- classical literature
U -- military science, including warfare, tactics and weapons
V -- naval science, including ships

Call numbers beginning with letters A - K are shelved on the second floor; call numbers L - Z are shelved on the third floor.

Ebook Collections

ABC-Clio eBooks This link opens in a new window
This collection covers American and World History, Politics and Government, Pop Culture, Society and Education, Current Issues, Religion, and Geography.
Ebook Central This link opens in a new window
Formerly Ebrary.
A collection of ebooks covering all subject areas.
Gale Ebooks This link opens in a new window
Formerly Gale Virtual Reference Library.
Provides an online collection of premier reference eBooks. Search across the entire collection or search a single title.
Oxford Digital Reference Shelf This link opens in a new window
Collection of online reference books from Oxford University Press. Excellent starting point for world cultures, religion, literature and other topics.
Salem History This link opens in a new window
Provides access to ebook versions of several of the History reference titles available in Nimitz Library including Great Events from History, Great Athletes, and Milestone Documents.

Interlibrary Loan

Interlibrary Loan (USNA only)
Use this link to submit a request for an article not available in Nimitz Library either electronically or in print.

You must register yourself the first time you use this service.

USNA faculty may request Local Article Delivery Service (LADS) from the same link.

Books Not in Nimitz Library

WorldCat This link opens in a new window
Includes Theses and Dissertations
A catalog of more than 24,000 academic, public and special libraries containing more than 36 million records for books, journals, videotapes, books-on-tape, computer files and other materials held in library collections. These records include items in print and out-of-print. Please note, many of the items listed in WorldCat may be difficult to obtain due to the esoteric nature of some publications.

Use WorldCat to search the catalogs of thousands of other libraries. If Nimitz Library doesn't have a title you need, use the Interlibrary Loan link above to request borrowing a copy.

Time Saving Tip

Remember to check the footnotes or endnotes as well as the bibliography in any scholarly book you use. This often leads you to a variety of possible additional sources, including primary sources.