Research Guides: Naval Architecture & Ocean Engineering: Journal Articles and Conference Papers

Search Tips

Save time with these search tips in the book catalog, most article databases and even Google.

Tip	Example
Join different concepts with AND	mangrove AND resilience
Join similar concepts with OR	engineering and (marine or ocean)
Use * (asterisk) to find variations of your keyword	robot* finds robot, robots, robotic, robotics

Where to Find Conference Papers & Journal Articles

These collections contain abstracts and the full text of conference papers and journal articles. If you find a document in a database and you can't access the full text, email the engineering librarian or submit an interlibrary loan request.

Engineering Village (Compendex and Inspec) This link opens in a new window
A comprehensive bibliographic database of scientific and technical engineering research available, covering all engineering disciplines. It includes citations and abstracts from thousands of engineering journals and conference proceedings. View more information here.
Home of engineering databases, Compendex and Inspec, Engineering Village includes journals, conference proceedings, dissertations, technical standards, trade magazines, technical reports and engineering information
IEEE Xplore This link opens in a new window
A digital library providing full text access to technical literature in electrical engineering, computer science, and electronics. IEEE Xplore contains full text documents from IEEE journals, transactions, magazines, letters, conference proceedings and standards.
A digital library providing full text access to the world's highest quality technical literature in electrical engineering, computer science, and electronics. IEEE Xplore contains full text documents from IEEE journals, transactions, magazines, letters, conference proceedings, standards, and IET (Institution of Engineering and Technology) publications.
Natural Science Collection (Proquest) This link opens in a new window
Provides extensive coverage of the literature in agriculture, aquatic science, atmospherics, biology, geology, earth science, and environmental science.
This database includes natural science content from searchable tables, figures, graphs, charts and other illustrations from the scholarly research and technical literature by employing ?deep indexing?. Search results can be viewed in full, in either thumbnail or enhanced format, along with the caption, author and source information and additional index terms that can be used for further searching. A link back to the parent record provides a summary view of all the objects associated with that paper.
ASFA: Aquatic Sciences and Fisheries Abstracts (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
Provides access to Aquatic Science and Fisheries Abstracts (ASFA), the premier database in the aquatic sciences; Oceanic Abstracts; Water Resources Abstracts; and more.
ASFA, Oceanic Abstracts and more.
Biological Science Database (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
Provides access to Biological Abstracts, Biochemistry Abstracts, Ecology Abstracts, MEDLINE, and Toxicology Abstracts databases and more.
Includes MEDLINE and TOXLINE.

Tips for Finding Conference Papers

Researchers report many new and novel procedures, process, products, and systems at conferences. Major society conferences, like IEEE and ASCE, are available through their respective digital libraries, but others can be difficult to find.

Didn't find the full text in the database?

First, try treating the name of the conference like a book title or author and searching it as keywords in Nimitz Search. This will tell you if we have any proceedings from that conference in our print collection.
Second, if you can't locate the conference, contact the engineering librarian
Third, the library can try to get you a copy of the specific articles as an interlibrary loan.

Societies and Conferences

American Society of Naval Engineers (ASNE)
ASNE is an engineering society for professionals who conceive, develop, construct, and maintain naval systems
IEEE Ocean Engineering Society
Includes all aspects of science, engineering, and technology that address research, development, and operations pertaining to all bodies of water.
Royal Institution of Naval Architects (RINA)
An institution involved at all levels in the design, construction, maintenance and operation of marine vessels
Society of Naval Architects and Marine Engineers (SNAME)
Organized to advance the art, science, and practice of naval architecture, shipbuilding and marine engineering.
Numerical Towing Tank Symposium
The European-based Numerical Towing Tank Symposium covers topics on marine structures (ships, propellers, offshore platforms, etc.) related to nonlinear flows around marine structures (LES, RANSE, Euler with or w/o free surface); free-surface flows around marine structures (3-D ship seakeeping, free-surface viscous flows); fluid-structure interaction; and other related topics (validation experiments, numerical techniques, grid generation, etc).
Proceedings of the International Conference on Coastal Engineering
Includes tables of contents for 1950-2020 conference proceedings with some full text papers.

A biennial conference held under the auspices of the Coastal Engineering Research Council of the COPRI (Coasts, Oceans, Ports, Rivers Institute) of the American Society of Civil Engineers. Paper topics include coastal waves, nearshore currents, coastal structures, sediment transport, coastal morphology, beach nourishment, and coastal management.

How to Find the Whole Article

Found a blue Find It @ USNA button instead of a full article?

Click the button to see if we have access to the article elsewhere.

Find it at USNA button

If you cannot access the full text of a document, use interlibrary loan to request it.

Legend

The following icons are used in the resources lists:

	Resource is available only to USNA midshipmen, faculty, and staff.
	Not all content is available to USNA midshipmen, faculty, and staff.
	Password required. Contact the Reference desk, 3-6946, for login information.
	Content not fully available in Nimitz Search. Try searching this database on its own.
Best Bet	Resource is an excellent all-purpose starting point for the selected subject.
	Available after logging in to the DoD MWR Digital Library.
	Some full text downloads may require installation of Adobe Digital Editions.

No longer need your copy of that proceedings?

If you've attended a conference and no longer need the published proceedings, please consider donating it to the library. Contact the Engineering Librarian for details.

It can be very difficult for the library to locate and purchase copies of conference publications from smaller organizations and events after the meeting. We are especially interested in proceedings from conferences related to naval and ocean engineering.