Research Guides: History: Getting Started

Introduction

The titles listed here provide background or overview information and can be a good starting point to help you find a topic, compare topics, verify information about a topic, or see a brief list of sources on a topic.

There are many more specialized encyclopedias not listed here, so ask a librarian to help you find others.

Gale Ebooks This link opens in a new window
Formerly Gale Virtual Reference Library.
Provides an online collection of premier reference eBooks. Search across the entire collection or search a single title.
Oxford Digital Reference Shelf This link opens in a new window
Collection of online reference books from Oxford University Press. Excellent starting point for world cultures, religion, literature and other topics.
Salem History This link opens in a new window
Provides access to ebook versions of several of the History reference titles available in Nimitz Library including Great Events from History, Great Athletes, and Milestone Documents.

The Oxford Encyclopedia of Maritime History by John B. Hattendorf (Editor)
Publication Date: 2007-01-01

Biography

African American National Biography, 8 vols. (Ref E185.96.A4466 2008)
American Military Leaders, 2 vols. (Ref U52.F84 1999)

American National Biography This link opens in a new window
Also in print under E176.A64 1999
Offers portraits of more than 17,400 men and women from all eras and walks of life - whose lives have shaped the nation.

American Secretaries of the Navy, 2 vols. (Ref VB23.A57)
Biographical Directory of the United States Congress, 1774-present
Biographical Encyclopedia of the Modern Middle East and North Africa, 2 vols.
Biographies in Naval History
The Chiefs of Naval Operations (Ref VA58.C47)
Commandants of the Marine Corps (Ref VE24.C65 2004)
Commanding Generals and Chiefs of Staff, 1775-2013 (Ref E181.B53 2013)
Dictionary of African Biography, 6 vols. (Ref CT1920.D52 2012)
Dictionary of American Military Biography, 3 vols. (Ref U52.D53 1984)
Dictionary of Irish Biography: From the Earliest Times to the Year 2002, 9 vols. (CT862.D53 2009)
Dictionary of Women Worldwide: 25,000 Women Through the Ages, 3 vols.
Encyclopedia of the United States Cabinet, 2 vols. (Ref E176.G89 2010)
Encyclopedia of World Biography, 27 vols.
Great Lives From History: The 17th Century (2 vols)
Great Lives From History: The 18th Century (2 vols.)
Great Lives From History: The 19th Century (4 vols.)
Great Lives From History: The 20th Century (10 vols.)
Historic World Leaders, 5 vols. (D412.H57 1994)
Home Front Heroes: A Biographical Dictionary of Americans During Wartime, 3 vols. (Ref E181.H755 2006)
Mexican Political Biographies, 1935-2009

Oxford Dictionary of National Biography This link opens in a new window
Also in print under DA28.O95 2004
Includes biographies of people who shaped the history of the British Isles and beyond, from the earliest times to the year 2003.

The Oxford Encyclopedia of Women in World History, 4 vols. (Ref HQ1121.O93 2008)
U.S. Marine Corps Biographical Dictionary (Ref E182.S39)
U.S. Navy Biographical Dictionary (Ref E182.S45)
Voices of Historical and Contemporary Black American Pioneers, 4 vols.

World History

Berkshire Encyclopedia of World History, 6 vols. (Ref D23.B45 2010)
Chronology of World Slavery
Also in print under Ref HT861.R63 1999
Cities of the World, 4 vols.
Cold War: The Essential Reference Guide
Colonialism: An International, Social, Cultural, and Political Encyclopedia, 3 vols.
Also in print under Ref JV22.C65 2003
Countries and Their Cultures, 4 vols.
The Crusades: An Encyclopedia, 4 vols.
Also in print under Ref D155.C78 2006
Dictionary of the Middle Ages, 14 vols. (Ref D114.D5 1982)
Encyclopedia of Genocide and Crimes Against Humanity, 3 vols.
Also in print under Ref HV6322.7.E532
Encyclopedia of Modern Ethnic Conflicts
Encyclopedia of Society and Culture in the Ancient World, 4 vols. (Ref CB311.E533 2008)
Encyclopedia of Society and Culture in the Medieval World, 4 vols. (Ref CB351.E53 2008)
Encyclopedia of the Cold War: A Political, Social, and Military History, 5 vols.
Also in print under Ref D840.E63 2008
Encyclopedia of the Holocaust, 4 vols. (Ref D804.3.E53 1990)
Encyclopedia of the Renaissance, 6 vols. (Ref CB361.E52 1999)
Encyclopedia of the Stateless Nations: Ethnic and National Groups Around the World, 4 vols.
Also in print under Ref D860.M56 2002
Encyclopedia of Western Colonization Since 1450, 3 vols.
Encyclopedia of World Cultures, 10 vols.
Also in print under Ref GN307.E53 1991
Epidemics and Pandemics: Their Impact on Human History
Events That Formed the Modern World: From the European Renaissance Through the War on Terror, 5 vols.
Global History: Cultural Encounters From Antiquity to the Present, 4 vols. (Ref D20.G57 2004)
Great Events From History: The 17th Century (2 vols.)
Great Events From History: The 18th Century (2 vols.)
Great Events From History: The 19th Century (4 vols.)
Great Events From History: The 20th Century, 1901-1940 (6 vols.)
Great Events From History: The 20th Century, 1941-1970 (6 vols.)
Great Events From History: The 20th Century, 1971-2000 (6 vols.)
The Historical Encyclopedia of World Slavery, 2 vols.
Also in print under Ref HT861.H57 1997
Immigration and Asylum: From 1900 to the Present, 3 vols.
Also in print under Ref JV6012.I56 2005
International Encyclopedia of Revolution and Protest: 1500 to the Present, 8 vols. (Ref JC491.I58 2009)
Islam in World Cultures: Comparative Perspectives
Also in print under BP161.3.I74 2004
Oxford Encyclopedia of Ancient Greece and Rome, 7 vols.
Oxford Encyclopedia of the Modern World, 8 vols. (Ref D205.O94 2008)
Pirates Through the Ages Reference Library, 4 vols.
Propaganda and Mass Persuasion: A Historical Encyclopedia, 1500 to the Present
Also in print under HM1231.C85
Religions of the World: a Comprehensive Encyclopedia of Beliefs and Practices
Revolutionary Movements in World History: From 1750 to the Present, 3 vols.
Also in print under Ref D295.R49 2006
Treaties and Alliances of the World
The United States Holocaust Memorial Encyclopedia of Camps and Ghettos, 1933-1945, 4 vols. (Ref D805.A2U55 2009)
Worldmark Encyclopedia of Cultures and Daily Life, 5 vols.

Naval and Military History Resources

African Americans at War: An Encyclopedia, 2 vols.
Also in print under Ref U52.S88 2004
Almanac of American Military History, 4 vols. (Ref E181.T93 2013)
American Civil War: the Definitive Encyclopedia and Document Collection, 6 vols.
American Civil War: The Essential Reference Guide (Ref E468.A533 2011)
American Naval History: An Illustrated Chronology of the U.S. Navy and Marine Corps, 1775-Present (Ref VA58.4.S94 2002)
The American Revolution: An Encyclopedia, 2 vols. (Ref E208.A433 1993)
American Women During World War II: An Encyclopedia (Ref D810.W7W435 2010)
Americans at War: Society, Culture, and the Homefront, 4 vols.
Also in print under Ref E181.A453 2005
America's Military Adversaries: From Colonial Times to the Present
Also in print under Ref E181.F83 2001
America's Wars (Ref E181.A94 2002)
Atlas of American Military History (Ref E181.M94 2005)
Atlas of History's Greatest Military Victories: the 50 Most Significant Moments Explored in Words and Maps (D25.6.H379 2013)
Atrocities, Massacres, and War Crimes: An Encyclopedia
Besieged: An Encyclopedia of Great Sieges from Ancient Times to the Present
Also in print under Ref D25.5.D32 2001
Brassey's Encyclopedia of Military History and Biography (Ref U24.B73 1994)
Brill's Encyclopedia of the First World War, 2 vols. (Ref D510.E5913 2012)
Chronology of American Military History, 3 vols. (Ref E181.F85 2010)
Civil-Military Relations During the War of 1812
Civil War Naval Encyclopedia, 2 vols. (Ref E591.C53 2011)
Concise Encyclopedia of World War II, 2 vols. (Ref D740.N65 2010)
Cuban Missile Crisis: The Essential Reference Guide
Dictionary of American Naval Fighting Ships, 9 vols.
Also in print under Ref VA61.D53
Dictionary of Battles and Sieges, 3 vols. (Ref D25.J33 2007)
Encyclopedia of American Military History, 3 vols. (Ref E181.E63 2003)
An Encyclopedia of American Women at War: From the Home Front to the Battlefields, 2 vols.
Encyclopedia of Battles in North America, 1517-1916 (Ref E46.5.P87 2000)
Encyclopedia of Conflicts Since World War II, 4 vols. (Ref D843.E46 2007)
Encyclopedia of Guerrilla Warfare (Ref U240.B43 1999)
Encyclopedia of Insurgency and Counterinsurgency: A New Era of Modern Warfare
Encyclopedia of Japanese American Internment (Ref D769.8.A6E64 2013)
Encyclopedia of Naval History (Ref V27.B86 1998)
Encyclopedia of Prisoners of War and Internment
Also in print under Ref UB800.E53 2000
Encyclopedia of Terrorism, 2 vols.
Encyclopedia of the American Civil War: A Political, Social, and Military History, 5 vols.
Also in print under Ref E468.E53 2000
Encyclopedia of the American Revolution, 2 vols. (Ref E208.E63 2006)
Encyclopedia of the American Revolutionary War: A Political, Social, and Military History, 5 vols.
Also in print under Ref E208.E64 2006
Encyclopedia of the Korean War: A Political, Social, and Military History, 3 vols.
Also in print under Ref DS918.E53 2010 (online edition is 2000)
Encyclopedia of the Mexican-American War
Also in print under E404.C93 1999
Encyclopedia of the Mexican-American War: a Political, Social, and Military History, 3 vols. (Ref E404.E53 2013)
Encyclopedia of the Middle East Wars: The United States in the Persian Gulf, Afghanistan, and Iraq Conflicts, 5 vols. (Ref DS63.1.E453 2010)
Encyclopedia of the Persian Gulf War
Also in print under Ref UF500.G8 1995
Encyclopedia of the Spanish-American and Philippine-American Wars: A Political, Social, and Military History, 3 vols.
Encyclopedia of the Vietnam War: A Political, Social, and Military History, 3 vols
Also in print in 4 vols. under Ref DS557.7.E53 2011 (online edition is 3 vols., 1998)
Encyclopedia of the War of 1812
Also in print under Ref E354.E53 1997
The Encyclopedia of the War of 1812: A Political, Social, and Military History, 3 vols., 2012
Encyclopedia of the Wars of the Early American Republic, 1783-1812: a Political, Social, and Military History, 3 vols.
Encyclopedia of War, 5 vols. (Ref U27.E48 2012)
Encyclopedia of Warfare (Ref D25.A2G55 2014)
Encyclopedia of World War I: A Political, Social, and Military History, 5 vols.
Also in print under Ref D522.5.W67 2005
Encyclopedia of World War II: A Political, Social, and Military History, 5 vols.
Also in print under Ref D740.E516 2005
Ethnic and Racial Minorities in the U.S. Military: An Encyclopedia, 2 vols. (Ref UB417.E84 2013)
Facts About the American Wars (Ref E181.F28 1998)
Gale Encyclopedia of U.S. History: War, 2 vols.
The Great War and America: Civil-Military Relations During World War I
Also in print under E780.F67 2008
Greenwood Library of American War Reporting, 8 vols. (Ref D5.G84 2005)
Guide to the Battles of the American Revolution (Ref E230.S435 2006)
The Home Front Encyclopedia: United States, Britain, and Canada in World Wars I and II, 3 vols.
The Iraq War Encyclopedia (Ref DS79.76.I7293 2013)
Japan at War: An Encyclopedia
The Korean War: An Exhaustive Chronology, 3 vols. (Ref DS918.H336 2007)
Korean War Reference Library, 2 vols.
Magill's Guide to Military History, 5 vols. (Ref D25.A2M34 2001)
Marshall Cavendish Illustrated Encyclopedia of World War I, 12 vols. (Oversize D522.5.M39 1984)
Marshall Cavendish Illustrated Encyclopedia of World War II, 11 vols. (Oversize D743.2.M37 1981)
Military Communications: From Ancient Times to the 21st Century
The Modern American Military (2013)
The Naval Institute Historical Atlas of the U.S. Navy (Ref G1201.S1S8 2001)
Naval Warfare: An Illustrated History (Ref D27.N38 1983)
Naval Warfare: An International Encyclopedia, 3 vols.
Also in print under Ref V23.N32 2002
Oxford Encyclopedia of American Military and Diplomatic History, 2 vols. (Ref E181.O95 2013)
Oxford Encyclopedia of Maritime History, 4 vols.
Also in print under Ref VK15.O84 2007
Personal Perspectives: World War I
Also in print under D521.P426 2006
Personal Perspectives: World War II
Also in print under D743.P464 2005
Political History of America's Wars (Ref E181.A945 2007)
The Sage Encyclopedia of Terrorism
Strategic Intelligence, 5 vols. (Ref UB250.S6385 2007)
The United States and Mexico at War (Ref E404.U66 1998)
The United States Army: A Chronology, 1775 to the Present
The United States Marine Corps: A Chronology, 1775 to the Present
Also in print under Ref VE23.F735 2011
The United States Navy: A Chronology, 1775 to the Present (Ref E182.F795 2010)
U.S. Leadership in Wartime: Clashes, Controversy, and Compromise, 2 vols.
Also in print under Ref E181.U825 2009
Vietnam War: the Essential Reference Guide
War in Peace: The Marshall Cavendish Illustrated Encyclopedia of Postwar Conflict, 13 vols. (Ref U42.W373 1985)
War in the Persian Gulf Reference Library, 4 vols.
The War of 1812: A Complete Chronology with Biographies of 63 General Officers (Ref E355.H36 2012)
The War of 1898 and U.S. Interventions, 1898-1934: An Encyclopedia (Ref E745.W37 1994)
Wars of the Americas: A Chronology of Armed Conflict in the Western Hemisphere, 1492 to the Present, 2 vols. (Ref E18.75.M374 2008)
Weapons and Warfare, 3 vols.
Also in print under Ref UF500.W48 2010
Women and War: A Historical Encyclopedia from Antiquity to the Present, 2 vols.
Also in print under Ref U24.W69 2006
Women in Combat: A Reference Handbook
The World Atlas of Warfare: Military Innovations That Changed the Course of History (Ref U27.W67 1988)
World in Conflict, 1914-1945 (Ref D431.S45 2000)
World War II at Sea: An Encyclopedia, 2 vols. (Ref D770.W66 2012)
World War II in the Pacific: An Encyclopedia (D767.W68 2001)
World War II: The Essential Reference Guide (Ref D743.W6658 2012)

Regions of the World

Africa and the Americas: Culture, Politics, and History: A Multidisciplinary Encyclopedia, 3 vols.
East Asia and the United States: An Encyclopedia of Relations Since 1784, vol. 1, A-M
Also in print under Ref DS518.8.E22 2002
East Asia and the United States: An Encyclopedia of Relations Since 1784, vol. 2, N-Z
Also in print under Ref DS518.8.E22 2002
Encyclopedia of African History and Culture, 5 vols. (Ref DT3.P27 2005)
Encyclopedia of Chinese-American Relations (Ref E183.8.C5E53 2006)
Encyclopedia of Eastern Europe (Ref DJK6.E53 2000)
Encyclopedia of European Social History from 1350 to 2000, 6 vols.
Encyclopedia of India, 4 vols.
Also in print under Ref DS405.E556 2006
Encyclopedia of Irish History and Culture, 2 vols.
Encyclopedia of Latin American History and Culture, 6 vols.
Also in print under Ref F1406.E53 1996 (online is 2008 edition)
Encyclopedia of Modern Asia, 6 vols. (Ref DS4.E53 2002)
Encyclopedia of Modern China, 4 vols.
Encyclopedia of Russian History
Also in print under Ref DK14.E53 2004
Encyclopedia of the Modern Middle East and North Africa, 4 vols.
Also in print under DS43.E53 2004
Encyclopedia of the World's Nations and Cultures, 4 vols. (Ref G63.K874 2007)
Encyclopedia of U.S.-Latin American Relations, 3 vols.
Also in print under Ref F1418.E59 2012
Encyclopedia of U.S. Military Interventions in Latin America , 2 vols.
France and the Americas: Culture, Politics, and History
Germany and the Americas: Culture, Politics, and History, 3 vols.
Iberia and the Americas: Culture, Politics, and History: A Multidisciplinary Encyclopedia, 3 vols.
Also in print under E18.75.I24 2006
Iran Today: An Encyclopedia of Life in the Islamic Republic, 2 vols. (Ref DS253.I69 2008)
Ireland and the Americas: Culture, Politics, and History: A Multidisciplinary Encyclopedia, 3 vols.
New Encyclopedia of Africa, 5 vols.
Oxford Encyclopedia of the Islamic World, 6 vols. (Ref DS35.53.O96 2009)
Saudi Arabia and the Gulf Arab States Today: An Encyclopedia of Life in the Arab States, 2 vols. (Ref DS202.2.S28 2009)
Southeast Asia: A Historical Encyclopedia from Angor Wat to East Timor, 3 vols.
Also in print under Ref DS524.S68 2004
Worldmark Encyclopedia of Cultures and Daily Life, 5 vols.
Worldmark Encyclopedia of the Nations, 13th edition, 5 vols., 2012

Statistics

American FactFinder

Historical Statistics of the United States This link opens in a new window
Topics ranging from migration and health to crime and the Confederate States of America are each placed in historical context by a recognized expert in the field. Electronic edition allows users to graph individual tables and create customized tables and spreadsheets.

Statistical Abstract of the United States
Also in print under Ref HA202.U55 2015, with older years in the general collection
USA Statistics in Brief
Warfare and Armed Conflicts: A Statistical Encyclopedia of Casualty and Other Figures, 1494-2007

U.S. History

America's Struggle With Empire: A Documentary History (E179.5.K37 2010)
Americns Presidents Year by Year, 3 vols. (Ref E176.1.N44 2004)
Belligerents, Brinkmanship, and the Big Stick: A Historical Encyclopedia of American Diplomatic Concepts
Colonial America: An Encyclopedia of Social, Political, Cultural, and Economic History, 5 vols. (Ref E162.C68 2006)
Conflicts in American History: A Documentary Encyclopedia, 8 vols.
Dictionary of American History, 10 vols
The Early Republic and Antebellum America: an Encyclopedia of Social, Political, Cultural, and Economic History , 4 vols. (Ref E301.E146 2010)
Encyclopedia of American Foreign Policy, 3 vols.
Encyclopedia of Media and Propaganda in Wartime America, 2 vols. (Ref E181.E6313 2011)
Encyclopedia of Revolutionary America, 3 vols. (Ref E208.G55 2010)
Encyclopedia of War and American Society, 3 vols. (Ref E181.E68 2006)
Historical Encyclopedia of U.S. Presidential Use of Force, 1789-2000 (Ref E176.1.H56 2001)
Spies, Wiretaps, and Secret Operations: An Encyclopedia of American Espionage, 2 vols.
World War II and the Postwar Years in America: A Historical and Cultural Encyclopedia, 2 vols. (Ref E806.Y73 2010)

Video

American History in Video This link opens in a new window
A collection of video available online for the study of American history. This collection allows students and researchers to analyze historical events, and their presentation over time, through commercial and governmental newsreels, archival footage, public affairs footage, and important documentaries.

General History

The Complete Guide to National Symbols and Emblems, 2 vols. (Ref CR191.M56 2010)
Dictionary of the History of Ideas, 5 vols.
Also in print in general collection under CB5.D52
Encyclopedia of Environment and Society, 5 vols.
Encyclopedia of Geography
Encyclopedia of Globalization, 4 vols. (Ref JZ1318.E63 2007)
Encyclopedia of Race and Racism, 4 vols.
Global Perspectives on the United States: A Nation by Nation Survey, 3 vols. (Ref E895.G56 2007)
Greenwood Encyclopedia of Daily Life, 6 vols. (Ref GT31.G74 2004)
The Impact of Globalization on the United States, 3 vols. (Ref HN90.G56I56 2008)
Kessing's Contemporary Archives and Record of World Events (since 1931)
Also in print in Ground Floor Overflow D410.K4
Seas and Waterways of the World: An Encyclopedia of History, Uses, and Issues, 2 vols.