Research Guides: FL210: Country Information/Geography

Country Information

A good place to start, these two sources offer a solid general overview of a country:

CIA World Factbook
Brief information on the history, people, government, economy, geography, communications, transportation, military, and transnational issues for 266 world entities. Also, maps, flags, leaders and an extensive listing of place names.

Europa World Plus This link opens in a new window
Europa World Plus is the online version of the Europa World Year Book and the nine-volume Europa Regional Surveys of the World series. First published in 1926, the year book is renowned as one of the world's leading reference works, covering political and economic information in more than 250 countries and territories.

Additional sources for statistics, facts, and other reference information.

ABC-Clio eBooks This link opens in a new window
This collection covers American and World History, Politics and Government, Pop Culture, Society and Education, Current Issues, Religion, and Geography.
Columbia Gazetteer of the World This link opens in a new window
An encyclopedia of geographical places and features.
Gale Ebooks This link opens in a new window
Formerly Gale Virtual Reference Library.
Provides an online collection of premier reference eBooks. Search across the entire collection or search a single title.
Global Road Warrior This link opens in a new window
Ultimate Guide to the World. Provides country specific travel information including: Business Culture, advice for the female traveler, maps (printable), society and culture, communications, money and banking, security, plus more.

National Statistical Agencies of Other Countries
Hosted by Bureau of Labor Statistics, also links to international statistical organizations.
Political Handbook of the World
Country profiles chronicling each nation's political history, government, leadership, elections, and political parties, including profiles of intergovernmental organizations, development banks, and the agencies and specialized bodies of the United Nations.
Sailing Directions from National Geospatial-Intelligence Agency
Very current: find navigational information, currency, government, holidays, industries, languages spoken.

What is The Columbia Gazetteer of the World?

"The definition of the term Gazetteer, when used in a geographical sense, is a "geographical index or dictionary." When used in atlases or map indexes, gazetteers are simply assemblages of alphabetically ordered listings of places or physical/cultural features. More extensive gazetteers include brief descriptions along with the listings. The comprehensive gazetteer, however, is an encyclopedia of geographical places and features. The Columbia Gazetteer of the World is such an encyclopedia."