Research Guides: How-To Guides: How to Research a Specific Person

Before You Start

Consider the following factors before you begin your research:

Type of information. Do you need high-level information such as birth date, death date and occupation? Do you need a detailed essay about the person’s accomplishments and impact?
Profession. In what occupation, such as the military, government, or arts, did the person work?
Timeline. When did the person live? Are they still alive or are they deceased?
Location. Where did they live? Where did they work?

Keep the answers to these questions in mind as you explore the resources below.

If you need some inspiration with picking a person, check out websites like Naval History and Heritage Command's Notable People list, Arlington National Cemetery's list of notable graves, which includes more than just military leaders, or a Google search for notable or influential people in a certain profession, location, or time period.

General Biography Resources

American National Biography
Offers portraits of more than 17,400 men and women from all eras and walks of life - whose lives have shaped the nation.
Offers portraits of more than 17,400 men and women from all eras and walks of life - whose lives have shaped the nation.
Oxford Dictionary of National Biography
Includes biographies of people who shaped the history of the British Isles and beyond, from the earliest times to the year 2003.
Includes biographies of people who shaped the history of the British Isles and beyond, from the earliest times to the year 2003.
Dictionary of Scientific Biography
Provides information on the history of science through articles on the professional lives of scientists. All periods of science from classical antiquity to modern times are represented.
Provides information on the history of science through articles on the professional lives of scientists. All periods of science from classical antiquity to modern times are represented.
Salem History
Provides access to ebook versions of several of the History reference titles available in Nimitz Library including Great Lives from History and Great Athletes.
Provides access to ebook versions of several of the History reference titles available in Nimitz Library including Great Events from History, Great Athletes, and Milestone Documents.

Obituaries

Obituaries and death notices can be useful resources for biographical information on a person. Check the databases below for access to newspaper obituaries for your person if they are deceased. Try searching for the person's name with the word obituary.

For more historical and current day newspaper resources check out this list from our History Librarian.

New York Times
Full-text coverage of the US newspaper of record from 2007 to the present.
Full-text coverage of the US newspaper of record. Offers superb coverage of national and international news, plus coverage of important speeches and documents, Supreme Court decisions, and presidential press conference transcripts.
New York Times Historical
Offers full page and article images with searchable full text back to the first issue (1851-2006)
Offers full page and article images with searchable full text back to the first issue (1851-2006). The collection includes digital reproductions providing access to every page from every available issue.
Nexis Uni
Provides access to full-text news from national and regional newspapers, wire services, broadcast transcripts, international news, and non-English language sources.
Provides access to full-text news, business, and legal publications. It includes deep backfiles and up-to-the-minute stories in national and regional newspapers, wire services, broadcast transcripts, international news, and non-English language sources. Use the included Company Dossier module to retrieve detailed company information and financial performance measures or identify and compare companies matching specific criteria. This product also provides access to the renowned Shepard's Citations service for all federal and states court cases back to 1789.
U.S. Major Dailies
Provides access to the Christian Science Monitor, The New York Times, the Wall Street Journal, and the Washington Post.
Provides access to the Christian Science Monitor, The New York Times, the Wall Street Journal, and the Washington Post.

Find Books in Nimitz Search

Need more information? Try searching in Nimitz Search for books in the library about your person. You may also find books in which your person is mentioned.

Try typing in the name of your person and the word biography. Here's a sample search for you to model your own from.

Help, I Can't Access this Resource!

Try these steps if you find an article or book and can't read it.

Submit an interlibrary loan (ILL) request. Watch the video below for more information on how to get started.
ILL is a service through which Nimitz Library obtains articles not in our collection from other libraries for your use. You must be on the yard or connected via VPN/VDI to submit a request.
Ask a librarian for help finding the full text of an article or book.

Military Biography Resources

For even more resources on military leaders, check out this list from our History Librarian.

Some frequently used books on this topic are:

Quarterdeck and Bridge: Two Centuries of American Naval Leaders, available in print and online
U.S. Marine Corps Biographical Dictionary, available in print
Famous American Admirals, available in print, and
Who's Who in Naval History: From 1550 to the Present, available in print and online

Can't Find What you Need? Ask for Help!

Visit the Research Help Desk on the first deck of the Nimitz Library, send a message on chat using the orange Need help? button, or make an appointment with a librarian.

Plebes can contact their Personal Librarian for help. For help after plebe year, contact your subject specialist.