USNA Major Primary Source Collections:

17th and 18th Century Burney Collection Newspapers This link opens in a new window
The largest single collection of English news media from these two centuries, 17th and 18th Century Burney Collection Newspapers provides rare and often unique content for scholarly research into a wide range of political, educational, economic or journalistic study.

Note: Use compatibility mode in IE8 or use the Firefox browser.
19th Century U.S. Newspapers This link opens in a new window
Provides full-text content from a range of urban and rural 19th-century U.S. newspapers.

Note: Use compatibility mode in IE8 or use the Firefox browser.
Adam Matthew Digital This link opens in a new window
A collection of cross-searchable products that offer primary source material for teaching and research across the following themes: Cultural, Area and Ethnic studies, including Empire and Globalism, Gender and Sexuality, History, Literature, Politics. Theatre and War and Conflict.
Archives Unbound This link opens in a new window
Collections in Archives Unbound cover a broad range of topics from the Middle Ages forward-from Witchcraft to World War II to twentieth-century political history.
Declassified Documents Online This link opens in a new window
Provides access to over 75,000 declassified documents from numerous government agencies plus supplemental information. Ranging from the late 1940's through the 1970's, it covers nearly every major foreign and domestic event of the time period.
Gale NewsVault This link opens in a new window
Gale NewsVault delivers the definitive cross-searching experience for exploring your library's collection of Gale historical newspapers. With the power to search over 10 million digitized facsimile pages, Gale NewsVault provides an unparalleled window to the past.
Historical Statistics of the United States This link opens in a new window
Topics ranging from migration and health to crime and the Confederate States of America are each placed in historical context by a recognized expert in the field. Electronic edition allows users to graph individual tables and create customized tables and spreadsheets.
History Vault This link opens in a new window
ProQuest History Vault unlocks the wealth of key archival materials with a single search. Researchers can access digitized letters, papers, photographs, scrapbooks, financial records, diaries, and many more primary source materials taken from the University Publications of America (UPA) Collections.
London Times Digital Archive This link opens in a new window
Considered the world's newspaper of record, it provides coverage on all major international historical events from the French Revolution to the Falkland War. Full-text searching is available for the entire newspaper, including articles, editorials, and advertising.
New York Times Historical This link opens in a new window
Offers full page and article images with searchable full text back to the first issue (1851-2006). The collection includes digital reproductions providing access to every page from every available issue.
Periodicals Archive Online‎ This link opens in a new window
Periodicals Archive Online is a major archive that makes the backfiles of scholarly periodicals in the arts, humanities and social sciences available electronically, providing access to the searchable full text of hundreds of titles. The database spans more than two centuries of content, 37 key subject areas, and multiple languages.

Additional Primary Source Databases at Nimitz Library

Finding Primary Sources

One collection of primary source material for the Arab World and Middle East from a British / UK perspective is:

Confidential Print: Middle East, 1839-1969

The Confidential Print series consists of documents issued by the British Government and held by the UK's National Archives.

This collection covers a broad sweep of history from c. 1839 to 1969, taking in the countries of the Arabian peninsula, the Levant, Iraq, Turkey and many of the former Ottoman lands in Europe, Iran, Afghanistan, Egypt and Sudan.

Online Sources / Websites:

Wilson Center / Cold War International History Project (CWIHP) Bulletin (1992-2012)
Wilson Center / Digital Archive "International History Declassified"
Digital National Security Archive
Coverage: 58 collections dating back to the 1940's

Other ideas for primary sources include:

Writings of any person from the time period (search people as an author in the library catalog)
Descriptions, letters, or accounts of people from the time
Any treaty, charter, proclamation, law, text of a document etc.
Accounts of a battle or siege from an early source
The image of an artifact or coin or object that you can interpret
Drawings or notebooks of a scientist or inventor
Paintings or sculpture or buildings that you can interpret
Maps depicting the world at the time

Capt. Macris can also advise you on various primary sources for the study of the history of the Arab Gulf States.

Middle East Primary Source Collections at Nimitz Library

IN THE NIMITZ BOOK COLLECTION:
Afghanistan Strategic Intelligence: British Records, 1919-1970	DS361.A344 2002
Arab Bulletin: Arab Bureau in Cairo, 1916-1919	DS62.4.A72, 4 vols.
Arab Dissident Movements, 1905-1955	DS62.8.A675, 4 vols.
Arab League: British Documentary Sources, 1943-1963	DS36.2.A76, 10 vols.
British Documents on Foreign Affairs, Series B: Near and Middle East, 1856-1956 (in 5 parts)	JZ633.6.N4.B7.. or JZ633.6.T8B72, 85 vols.
Collection of First World War Military Handbooks of Arabia,1913-1917	D568.4.C65, 10 vols.
Communications & Transport, 1860-1960 (Arabian Peninsula)	HE268.55.C66, 9 vols.
Court of Inquiry to Inquire into the Circumstances Surrounding the Armed Attack on USS Liberty	Oversize KF7647.U55, 2 vols.
Defence 1920-1960 (Persian Gulf Region)	DS247.A13G34, 12 vols.
Diplomacy in the Near and Middle East, 1535-1956	DS63.17.D57
Documentary History of the Dwight D. Eisenhower Presidency	E835.D63, 12 vols.
Documentary History of the Truman Presidency	E813.D56, 35 vols.
Documents on the History of Saudi Arabia, 1909-1949	DS244.D6, 5 vols.
Foreign Relations of the United States, since 1861	JX233.A3 and online
Gazetteer of Arabian Tribes	DS36.9.A1G39, 18 vols.
Iran in the Persian Gulf, 1820-1966	DS326.I73, 6 vols.
Iran Political Developments, 1941-1946: British Documentary Sources: Iran Under Allied Occupation	DS318.I735 2008, 13 vols.
Iran: Political Diaries, 1991-1965	DS274.I73, 14 vols.
Iraq: Administrative Reports, 1914-1932	DS79.5.I73, 10 vols.
Iraq: Defence Intelligence, 1920-1973	DS70.96.G7I73, 6 vols.
Islamic Movements in the Arab World, 1913-1966	BP173.7.I869, 4 vols.
Israel: Boundary Disputes with Arab Neighbors, 1946-1964	DS119.7.I823. 10 vols.
King Abdul Aziz, Political Correspondence 1904-1953	DS244.53.I26, 4 vols.
La Nation Arabe (in French)	DS41.N375, 4 vols.
Memoirs of Baghdad, Kurdistan and Turkish Arabia, 1857: Selections from the Records of the Bombay Government	DS94.J66 1998
Middle East Intelligence Handbooks, 1943-1946	DS62.M535, 5 vols.
Palestine Boundaries, 1833-1947	DS119.65.P35, 4 vols.
Persian Gulf and Red Sea Naval Reports, 1820-1960	DS326.P43, 15 vols.
Persian Gulf Historical Summaries, 1907-1953	DS326.P474, 4 vols.
Persian Gulf Pilot, 1870-1932	VK897.P47, 8 vols.
Political Diaries of the Arab World: Aden, 1899-1957	DS70.96.G7P65, 16 vols.
Political Diaries of the Arab World: Iraq, 1920-1965	DS70.96.G7P65, 8 vols.
Political Diaries of the Arab World: Palestine and Jordan, 1920-1965	DS126.P35, 10 vols.
Political Diaries of the Arab World: Persian Gulf, 1904-1965	DS326.P648, 24 vols.
Political Diaries of the Arab World: Saudi Arabia and the Jedda Diaries, 1919-1965	DS228.G7J43, 6 vols.
Records of Islam, 1908-1972: British Documentary Sources	BP173.7.I855, 12 vols.
Records of Saudi Arabia, 1902-1971	DS223.R43, 22 vols.
Records of Syria, 1918-1973	DS95.R43 2005, 15 vols.
Records of the Hajj: Documentary History of the Pilgrimage to Mecca	BP187.3.R43, 10 vols.
Records of the Hashimite Dynasties: A Twentieth Century Documentary History	DS62.8.R43, 15 vols.
Records of the Hijaz, 1798-1925	DS247.H45R426, 8 vols.
Red Sea Region: Sovereignty, Boundaries and Conflict, 1839-1967	DT39.R45 2008, 6 vols.
Ruling Families of Arabia	DS244.512.R85, 8 vols.
Saudi Arabia: Secret Intelligence Records, 1926-1939	DA47.9.S33S28, 8 vols.
Slave Trade into Arabia, 1820-1973	HT317.S58, 9 vols.
Turkey and her Arab Neighbors, 1953-1958: A Study in the Origins and Failure of the Baghdad Pact	DR479.A655S26
U.S. Records on Saudi Affairs, 1945-1959	E183.8.S25U66, 8 vols.

ON MICROFILM IN NIMITZ:
CIA Research Reports: Middle East, 1946-1976	DS62.8.C52, 3 reels
Confidential U.S. Diplomatic Post Records: Middle East, 1925-1941, sections on Aden, Beirut, Iran, Iraq, and Jerusalem	105 reels, check library catalog
Confidential U.S. State Dept. Central Files: Saudi Arabia, 1945-1963 Confidential U.S. State Department Central Files, Saudi Arabia: Internal Affairs and Foreign Affairs, 1960-January 1963	DS244.53.C6…,43 reels
Documents of the National Security Council, 1947-1994	UA23.U546, 64 reels
Israel National Security Files, 1963-1969	E183.8.I75G8, 3 reels
John F. Kennedy National Security Files, 1961-1963: The Middle East	E841.J64, 21 reels
Lyndon B. Johnson National Security Files, 1963-1969: Middle East	E846.L85, 8 reels
Gerald R. Ford National Security Files, 1974-1977: The Middle East and South Asia
Richard M. Nixon Natiojnal Security Files, 1969-1974: Middle East
Richard M. Nixon Natiojnal Security Files, 1969-1974: The Middle East Negotiations
Middle East Politics and Diplomacy, 1904-1950: The Papers of Sir Ronald Storrs	DS62.4.S75, 26 reels
Middle East, Special Studies, 1970-2002	DS63.1.M53, 90 reels
Minutes of Meetings of the National Security Council, 1947-1960, including 3 supplements	UA23.N255 or UA23.15.N373, 18 reels
OSS/State Dept. Intelligence Reports: The Middle East, 1950-1961	DS63.U5, 3 reels
Records of the Joint Chiefs of Staff: Part 2, 1946-1953, The Middle East	DS63.2.U5U57, 2 reels

HH369 | History and Culture of Iran

USNA Major Primary Source Collections:

Finding Primary Sources

Confidential Print: Middle East, 1839-1969

Online Sources / Websites:

Wilson Center / Cold War International History Project (CWIHP) Bulletin (1992-2012)

Wilson Center / Digital Archive "International History Declassified"

Digital National Security Archive
Coverage: 58 collections dating back to the 1940's

Middle East Primary Source Collections at Nimitz Library

Confidential U.S. State Department Central Files, Saudi Arabia: Internal Affairs and Foreign Affairs, 1960-January 1963

Full-text Primary Source Document Collections

Primary Sources Tip Sheets

HH369 | History and Culture of Iran

USNA Major Primary Source Collections:

Finding Primary Sources

Confidential Print: Middle East, 1839-1969

Online Sources / Websites:

Wilson Center / Cold War International History Project (CWIHP) Bulletin (1992-2012)

Wilson Center / Digital Archive "International History Declassified"

Digital National Security Archive ​​​​​​​ Coverage: 58 collections dating back to the 1940's

Middle East Primary Source Collections at Nimitz Library

Confidential U.S. State Department Central Files, Saudi Arabia: Internal Affairs and Foreign Affairs, 1960-January 1963

Full-text Primary Source Document Collections

Primary Sources Tip Sheets

Digital National Security Archive
Coverage: 58 collections dating back to the 1940's