Find Articles

Use the databases listed here to identify articles on your topic or subject. In many cases, you can access the full-text of the articles.

If you can't directly retrieve the full-text, select the blue Find It button under the article citation or check Journals by Title to see if we have access from another source or if the journal is print only and not online at all.

As a last resort, consider placing a request via InterLibrary Loan.

History Databases

Historical Abstracts (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Covers the history of the world (excluding the United States and Canada) from 1450 to the present, including world history, military history, women's history, history of education, and more.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
JSTOR offers a high-quality, multidisciplinary archive to support scholarship and teaching. It includes archives of over one thousand leading academic journals across the humanities, social sciences, and sciences, as well as select monographs and other materials valuable for academic work. The entire corpus is full-text searchable, offers search term highlighting, includes high-quality images, and is interlinked by millions of citations and references.
America: History & Life (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Index to scholarly literature on the history of the United States and Canada from prehistory to the present. It provides access to articles, books, and dissertations published since 1964.
Project MUSE This link opens in a new window
An interdisciplinary collection of e-journals in the arts, humanities, and social sciences. These titles cover a variety of subjects with a focus on literature, political science, history and culture.

Databases for Iran

Archives Unbound This link opens in a new window
Collections in Archives Unbound cover a broad range of topics from the Middle Ages forward-from Witchcraft to World War II to twentieth-century political history.
Declassified Documents Online This link opens in a new window
Provides access to over 75,000 declassified documents from numerous government agencies plus supplemental information. Ranging from the late 1940's through the 1970's, it covers nearly every major foreign and domestic event of the time period.
Digital National Security Archive This link opens in a new window
Full-text access to 50 years of declassified documents related to U. S. foreign policy.
HeinOnline Foreign Relations of the United States This link opens in a new window
Collection consists of complete Code of Federal Regulations, English Reports, European Center for Minority Issues, Federal Register Library, Foreign & International Law Resources Database, International Law Association Reports, Law Journal Library, Legal Classics, New York Court of Appeals Records and Briefs, the Philip C. Jessup Library, the Treaties and Agreements Library, a collection of political journals and session laws, U.S. Attorney General Opinions, U.S. Federal Legislative History Library, U.S. Presidential Library, U.S. Statutes at Large, the U.S. Supreme Court Library, and the World Trials Library.

The Foreign Relations of the United States (FRUS) series

Examples of Scholarly Journals

These are examples of relevant scholarly journals to which Nimitz Library subscribes. Check the Journals by Title link in the column on the right for specific dates or to link to online content.

American Historical Review
Classical Quarterly
Early Medieval Europe
Exemplaria
Historical Research
Journal of Arabian Studies
Journal of Hellenic Studies
Journal of Medieval History
Journal of Medieval Military History
Journal of Roman Studies
Journal of the History of Philosophy
Middle Eastern Studies
Religious Studies

You can also check the American Historical Association's (AHA) Directory of History Journals

Anatomy of a Scholarly Article

Use this link for an explanation of the parts of a scholarly journal article.

https://www.lib.ncsu.edu/tutorials/scholarly-articles/

Legend

The following icons are used in the resources lists:

	Resource is available only to USNA midshipmen, faculty, and staff.
	Not all content is available to USNA midshipmen, faculty, and staff.
	Password required. Contact the Reference desk, 3-6946, for login information.
	Content not fully available in Nimitz Search. Try searching this database on its own.
Best Bet	Resource is an excellent all-purpose starting point for the selected subject.
	Available after logging in to the DoD MWR Digital Library.
	Some full text downloads may require installation of Adobe Digital Editions.

Find Journals by Title

Journals by Title
Use this link to verify our print, electronic, or microform access to a specific journal, magazine, or newspaper title.

Interlibrary Loan

Interlibrary Loan (USNA only)
Use this link to submit a request for an article not available in Nimitz Library either electronically or in print.

You must register yourself the first time you use this service.

USNA faculty may request Local Article Delivery Service (LADS) from the same link.