EW301 System Modeling and Simulation

The EW301 final project provides you an opportunity to exercise the modeling and simulation skills you have developed throughout the course. You will select a peer reviewed paper and reproduce a single plot from the paper.

IEEEXplore

A digital library providing full text access to technical literature in electrical engineering, computer science, and electronics. IEEE Xplore contains full text documents from IEEE journals, transactions, magazines, letters, conference proceedings, standards, and IET (Institution of Engineering and Technology) publications.

PubMedCentral

PubMedCentral is a free full-text archive of biomedical and life sciences journal literature at the U.S. National Institutes of Health's National Library of Medicine (NIH/NLM).

Google Scholar

Google Scholar lets us search just the scholarly literature using a familiar interface.

Use quotation marks to search for a multi-word phrase like "transfer function" or "control system."

Refine your search results using the various filters in each database. Here's an example from IEEEXplore:

If you can't find the full text of a paper, try searching for the title in Google or Google Scholar. If that doesn't work, try Interlibrary Loan.

Does my paper include all the information I need to run the simulation and recreate the plot? You may need to check the paper's references if the parameters aren't included. You may see something in the text like: "The reader can find details, equations and parameter values in former publications [1], [2]."

Can I recreate the plot using the skills and knowledge I've learned in class? Review the paper sooner than later to ensure it's not too difficult. Don't wait until the last minute!

Remember, you're not recreating the entire paper — just one plot!

Try these steps if you find an article and can't read it.

• Submit an interlibrary loan (ILL) request. Watch the video below for more information on how to get started.
  
• ILL is a service through which Nimitz Library obtains articles not in our collection from other libraries for your use. You must be on the yard or connected via VPN/VDI to submit a request.
   
• Email the Engineering Librarian for help finding the full text of an article.

The IEEE Reference Style Guide for Authors is the authoritative source on citing in IEEE style. Citing a journal article? Look under P for periodicals.

Nimitz Search and IEEEXplore can also auto-generates citations in IEEE style. Always double check the output of citation generators for accuracy.