Offers a detailed bibliography of journal articles, books and dissertations. Produced by the Modern Language Association (MLA), the electronic version of the bibliography dates back to the 1920s and contains over 2.2 million citations from more than 4,400 journals & series, and 1,000 book publishers. The indexed materials coverage is international and includes almost 60 titles from J-STOR's language and literature collection as well as links to full text. This database includes journal abbreviations and acronyms for almost 3,500 titles, with full journal names standardized and ISSNs attached. MLA International Bibliography also contains nearly 11,000 subject names and terms. Subjects consist of literature, language and linguistics, folklore, literary theory & criticism, dramatic arts, as well as the historical aspects of printing and publishing. View more information here.
The Dictionary of Literary Biography Complete Online provides comprehensive access to the series dedicated to making literature and its creators better understood and more accessible to students and interested readers while simultaneously satisfying the standards of librarians, teachers, and scholars. View more information here.
The most comprehensive dictionary of the English language. It traces the development of English from approximately 1150 AD up to the present day. The varieties of English covered include British English, American English, Australian English, New Zealand English, the Englishes of the Indian subcontinent, Southern Africa, and the Caribbean, among others. It is intended to be descriptive, not prescriptive - its content should be viewed as an objective reflection of English language usage, not a subjective collection of usage dos and don'ts. However, it does include information on which usages are, or have been, popularly regarded as 'incorrect.' The Dictionary aims to cover the full spectrum of English language usage, from formal to slang, as it has evolved over time. View more information here.
Provides an online collection of premier reference eBooks. Search across the entire collection or search a single title. View more information here.
English/Literature Research Guide
This guide was created to help you locate and use resources for and about many different works of literature. Click on a blue tab above for information on locating and accessing online and print resources from Nimitz Library and beyond. If you have any questions about this guide, about library resources or anything else as you move through the research process, please don't hesitate to contact me using the contact information on the right.