Research Guides: EM473: Design of Modern Weapons: Home

Welcome to Nimitz Library

Today we'll work together to brainstorm search strategies for your assignment. You'll get familiar with databases used by scholars and professionals.

At the end of class, you'll leave with either a paper in hand or you'll have requested a paper through interlibrary loan for your critique.

Here's a link to the slides from today's class.

Database List

Scopus
A comprehensive abstract and citation database that finds relevant and authoritative research and provides access to reliable data, metrics and analytical tool across a wide variety of disciplines.
Scopus is a comprehensive, curated abstract and citation database that finds relevant and authoritative research, identifies experts and provides access to reliable data, metrics and analytical tool across a wide variety of disciplines.
Engineering Village (Compendex and Inspec)
A comprehensive database of scientific and technical engineering research available, covering all engineering disciplines. It includes millions of bibliographic citations and abstracts from thousands of engineering journals and conference proceedings.
Home of engineering databases, Compendex and Inspec, Engineering Village includes journals, conference proceedings, dissertations, technical standards, trade magazines, technical reports and engineering information
Advanced Technologies & Aerospace Database (Proquest)
The collection contains advanced technology related full-text articles and the entire range of bibliographic records from the Advanced Technologies Database with Aerospace (ATDWA). ATDWA brings together the most comprehensive coverage of research, emerging technologies, applications and companies in the areas of aeronautics, astronautics, computer & information technology, electronics, communications, solid state devices and space sciences.
The collection contains advanced technology related full-text articles, granular access to millions of figures and tables within articles, and the entire range of bibliographic records from the Advanced Technologies Database with Aerospace (ATDWA). ATDWA brings together the most comprehensive bibliographic coverage of research, emerging technologies, applications and companies in the areas of aeronautics, astronautics, computer & information technology, electronics, communications, solid state devices and space sciences.
AIAA Aerospace Research Central
AIAA American Institute of Aeronautics and Astronautics is the leading research body for aeronautics. We have full-text online access to most journal articles and all conference papers from 1964-2023.
The American Institute of Aeronautics and Astronautics is the leading research body for aeronautics. We have full-text online access to most of its research journals. Additionally, we have access to AIAA meeting papers from 1963-2023..
IEEE Xplore
A digital library providing full text access to technical literature in electrical engineering, computer science, and electronics.
A digital library providing full text access to the world's highest quality technical literature in electrical engineering, computer science, and electronics. IEEE Xplore contains full text documents from IEEE journals, transactions, magazines, letters, conference proceedings, standards, and IET (Institution of Engineering and Technology) publications.

DTIC

Another useful resource is the Defense Technical Information Center (DTIC). DTIC serves the DoD community as the largest central resource for DoD and government-funded scientific, technical, engineering, and business related information available today. While all visitors can search DTIC's publicly accessible collections, DTIC also makes other information to eligible users who register for DTIC services.

Use this link to search DTIC for research articles.

Librarian

Kelly Durkin Ruth

Contact:

Engineering Librarian
Nimitz Library
durkinru@usna.edu

Subjects: Engineering