Research Guides: HE301 Patterns in Drama: Performance Reviews

Finding Performance Reviews

Finding reviews of historical performances can be challenging. You may choose to start your search in one of the library's databases listed below. None of these databases include only reviews so you'll have to sift through your results to find the information that's relevant to you. You should include the name of the play, and any additional information you have (for examle: the name of the director, actors, or production company). You may choose to include the words: review, performance, theater, or production in your search to help narrow your results.

Gale NewsVault This link opens in a new window
Gale NewsVault delivers the definitive cross-searching experience for exploring your library's collection of Gale historical newspapers. With the power to search over 10 million digitized facsimile pages, Gale NewsVault provides an unparalleled window to the past.
New York Times Historical This link opens in a new window
Offers full page and article images with searchable full text back to the first issue (1851-2006). The collection includes digital reproductions providing access to every page from every available issue.
17th and 18th Century Burney Collection Newspapers This link opens in a new window
The largest single collection of English news media from these two centuries, 17th and 18th Century Burney Collection Newspapers provides rare and often unique content for scholarly research into a wide range of political, educational, economic or journalistic study.

Note: Use compatibility mode in IE8 or use the Firefox browser.
19th Century U.S. Newspapers This link opens in a new window
Provides full-text content from a range of urban and rural 19th-century U.S. newspapers.

Note: Use compatibility mode in IE8 or use the Firefox browser.
America's Historical Newspapers, Series I (1690 - 1876) This link opens in a new window
Offers searchable digital facsimiles of thousands of titles from all 50 states. With eyewitness reporting, editorials, letters, advertisements, obituaries and much more, this acclaimed collection uniquely chronicles the evolution of American culture and daily life from 1690 to the recent past.
Early American Newspapers, Series I This link opens in a new window
Offers searchable digital facsimiles of thousands of titles from all 50 states. With eyewitness reporting, editorials, letters, advertisements, obituaries and much more, this acclaimed collection uniquely chronicles the evolution of American culture and daily life from 1690 to the recent past.
U.S. Major Dailies This link opens in a new window
Formerly National Newspapers.
Provides access to the Christian Science Monitor, The New York Times, the Wall Street Journal, and the Washington Post.
MLA International Bibliography This link opens in a new window
Offers a detailed bibliography of journal articles, books and dissertations. Produced by the Modern Language Association (MLA), the electronic version of the bibliography dates back to the 1920s and contains over 2.2 million citations from more than 4,400 journals & series, and 1,000 book publishers. The indexed materials coverage is international and includes almost 60 titles from J-STOR's language and literature collection as well as links to full text. This database includes journal abbreviations and acronyms for almost 3,500 titles, with full journal names standardized and ISSNs attached. MLA International Bibliography also contains nearly 11,000 subject names and terms. Subjects consist of literature, language and linguistics, folklore, literary theory & criticism, dramatic arts, as well as the historical aspects of printing and publishing.
Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
Provides access to full-text news, business, and legal publications. It includes deep backfiles and up-to-the-minute stories in national and regional newspapers, wire services, broadcast transcripts, international news, and non-English language sources. Use the included Company Dossier module to retrieve detailed company information and financial performance measures or identify and compare companies matching specific criteria. This product also provides access to the renowned Shepard's Citations service for all federal and states court cases back to 1789.