Research Guides: Nuclear Engineering: Journal Articles &amp; Conference Papers

Search Tips

Save time with these search tips in the book catalog, most article databases and even Google.

Tip	Example
Join different concepts with AND	radiation AND safety
Join similar concepts with OR	nuclear AND (engineering OR science)
Use * (asterisk) to find variations of your keyword	detect* finds detect, detection, detector, detecting

Where to Find Conference Papers & Journal Articles

These collections contain abstracts and the full text of conference papers and journal articles. If you find a document in a database and you can't access the full text, email the engineering librarian or submit an interlibrary loan request.

Engineering Village (Compendex) This link opens in a new window
A comprehensive bibliographic database of scientific and technical engineering research available, covering all engineering disciplines. The American Nuclear Society's journals are indexed in Engineering Village.
A comprehensive bibliographic database of scientific and technical engineering research available, covering all engineering disciplines. It includes millions of bibliographic citations and abstracts from thousands of engineering journals and conference proceedings.
PubMed This link opens in a new window
PubMed comprises citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. Citations may include links to full-text content from PubMed Central and publisher web sites.
PubMed comprises more than 21 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. Citations may include links to full-text content from PubMed Central and publisher web sites.
Advanced Technologies & Aerospace Database (Proquest) This link opens in a new window
A collection of full text and index collections covering engineering, advanced technologies and aerospace topics. It's a great place to get started looking for full text articles on your topic.
The collection contains advanced technology related full-text articles, granular access to millions of figures and tables within articles, and the entire range of bibliographic records from the Advanced Technologies Database with Aerospace (ATDWA). ATDWA brings together the most comprehensive bibliographic coverage of research, emerging technologies, applications and companies in the areas of aeronautics, astronautics, computer & information technology, electronics, communications, solid state devices and space sciences.
IEEE Xplore This link opens in a new window
A digital library providing full text access to IEEE journals, transactions, magazines, letters, conference proceedings and standards.
A digital library providing full text access to the world's highest quality technical literature in electrical engineering, computer science, and electronics. IEEE Xplore contains full text documents from IEEE journals, transactions, magazines, letters, conference proceedings, standards, and IET (Institution of Engineering and Technology) publications.

Annals of the ICRP

All issues of the Annals of the ICRP more than two years old are freely available at the publisher's website. If you need information from a newer issue, request the paper via interlibrary loan.

Annual Review of Nuclear and Particle Science

Nimitz Library provides access to print and online editions of the Annual Review of Nuclear and Particle Science for various years. Check Nimitz Search for our current holdings and access points.

Help, I can't access this article!

Try these steps if you find an article or book and can't read it.

Submit an interlibrary loan (ILL) request. Watch the video below for more information on how to get started.
ILL is a service through which Nimitz Library obtains articles not in our collection from other libraries for your use. You must be on the yard or connected via VPN/VDI to submit a request.
Email the Engineering Librarian for help finding the full text of an article or book.

Physics & Astronomy Guide

Consult the Physics & Astronomy Research Guide for more related resources and databases.

Difficult to Find Engineering Papers

The Linda Hall Library has created a database of hard to find engineering papers that have not been indexed or are missing citation information in the major indexing services. Use interlibrary loan to request any papers you need.

How to Find the Whole Article

Found a blue Find It @ USNA button instead of a full article?

Click the button to see if we have access to the article elsewhere.

Find it at USNA button

If you cannot access the full text of a document, use interlibrary loan to request it.

Legend

The following icons are used in the resources lists:

	Resource is available only to USNA midshipmen, faculty, and staff.
	Not all content is available to USNA midshipmen, faculty, and staff.
	Password required. Contact the Reference desk, 3-6946, for login information.
	Content not fully available in Nimitz Search. Try searching this database on its own.
Best Bet	Resource is an excellent all-purpose starting point for the selected subject.
	Available after logging in to the DoD MWR Digital Library.
	Some full text downloads may require installation of Adobe Digital Editions.