Skip to Main Content

Aerospace Engineering

Use this guide to find books, articles, reports and websites related to aeronautical and astronautical engineering.

Search Tips

Save time with these search tips in the book catalog, most article databases and even Google.

Tip Example
 Join different concepts with AND  airplane and robot
 Join similar concepts with OR  airplane and (robot or unmanned)
 Use * (asterisk) to find variations of your keyword  robot* finds robot, robots, robotic, robotics

Where to Find Conference Papers & Journal Articles

These collections contain abstracts and the full text of conference papers and journal articles. If you find a document in a database and you can't access the full text, email the engineering librarian or submit an interlibrary loan request.

How to Find Conference Papers

Researchers report many new and novel procedures, process, products, and systems at conferences. Major society conferences, like AIAA and IEEE, are available through their respective digital libraries, but others can be difficult to find.

Didn't find the full text in the database?

  • First, try treating the name of the conference like a book title or author and searching it as keywords in our catalogue. This will tell you if we have any proceedings from that conference in our print collection. 
  • Second, if you can't locate the conference proceeding, contact the engineering librarian
  • Third, submit an interlibrary loan request and the library will try to get a copy of the item you need from another library. 

Legend

The following icons are used in the resources lists:

USNA only Resource is available only to USNA midshipmen, faculty, and staff.
Not all content available Not all content is available to USNA midshipmen, faculty, and staff.
Password required.  Contact the Reference desk, 3-6946, for login information.
Icon Content not fully available in Nimitz Search.  Try searching this database on its own.
 Best Bet  Resource is an excellent all-purpose starting point for the selected subject.

How to Get the Whole Article

Found a blue Find It @ USNA button instead of a full article?

Click the button to see if we have access to the article elsewhere.    

Find it at USNA button

 

 

If you cannot access the full text of a document, use interlibrary loan to request it

No longer need your copy of that proceedings?

If you attended a conference and no longer need the published proceedings, consider donating it to the library. It can be very difficult for the library to locate and purchase copies of conference publications from smaller organizations and events after the meeting.

Contact the engineering librarian for details.