Research Guides: Languages and Cultures: Articles

Find Articles

While you can use the Nimitz Search to locate articles, you'll have more control over your results if you use a database directly. Most of these databases include articles in languages other than English, and you may need to use Interlibrary Loan to retrieve them.

General Databases

Academic OneFile This link opens in a new window
Source for peer-reviewed, full-text articles from the world's leading journals and reference sources. Offers extensive coverage of the physical sciences, technology, medicine, social sciences, the arts, theology, literature and other subjects.
Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new window
Includes full-text coverage in biology, chemistry, economics, engineering, physics, political science, psychology, religion & theology, as well as other subject areas.
Historical Abstracts (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Covers the history of the world (excluding the United States and Canada) from 1450 to the present, including world history, military history, women's history, history of education, and more.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
JSTOR offers a high-quality, multidisciplinary archive to support scholarship and teaching. It includes archives of over one thousand leading academic journals across the humanities, social sciences, and sciences, as well as select monographs and other materials valuable for academic work. The entire corpus is full-text searchable, offers search term highlighting, includes high-quality images, and is interlinked by millions of citations and references.
Philosopher's Index This link opens in a new window
Informative, author-written abstracts covering scholarly research in all areas of philosophy. The literature covered goes back to 1940 and includes journal articles, books, book chapters such as contributions to an anthology, and book reviews. Subject areas include: Aesthetics, Metaphysics, Philosophy of Ethics, Philosophy of History, Philosophy of Language, Philosophy of Science, and Political Philosophy.
Project MUSE This link opens in a new window
An interdisciplinary collection of e-journals in the arts, humanities, and social sciences. These titles cover a variety of subjects with a focus on literature, political science, history and culture.

Literature, Language Learning, and Linguistics

JSTOR This link opens in a new window
JSTOR offers a high-quality, multidisciplinary archive to support scholarship and teaching. It includes archives of over one thousand leading academic journals across the humanities, social sciences, and sciences, as well as select monographs and other materials valuable for academic work. The entire corpus is full-text searchable, offers search term highlighting, includes high-quality images, and is interlinked by millions of citations and references.
Linguistics and Language Behavior Abstracts This link opens in a new window
This resource abstracts and indexes the international literature in linguistics and related disciplines in the language sciences. The database covers all aspects of the study of language including phonetics, phonology, morphology, syntax and semantics. Documents indexed include journal articles, book reviews, books, book chapters, dissertations and working papers.
MLA International Bibliography This link opens in a new window
Offers a detailed bibliography of journal articles, books and dissertations. Produced by the Modern Language Association (MLA), the electronic version of the bibliography dates back to the 1920s and contains over 2.2 million citations from more than 4,400 journals & series, and 1,000 book publishers. The indexed materials coverage is international and includes almost 60 titles from J-STOR's language and literature collection as well as links to full text. This database includes journal abbreviations and acronyms for almost 3,500 titles, with full journal names standardized and ISSNs attached. MLA International Bibliography also contains nearly 11,000 subject names and terms. Subjects consist of literature, language and linguistics, folklore, literary theory & criticism, dramatic arts, as well as the historical aspects of printing and publishing.
Project MUSE This link opens in a new window
An interdisciplinary collection of e-journals in the arts, humanities, and social sciences. These titles cover a variety of subjects with a focus on literature, political science, history and culture.
PsycINFO 1887-Current This link opens in a new window
A rich source that supports searching by gender, age group, or methodology.
Abstracts of scholarly journal articles, book chapters, books, and dissertations, for peer-reviewed literature in behavioral science and mental health. Includes information about the psychological aspects of related fields such as medicine, psychiatry, nursing, sociology, education, pharmacology, technology, linguistics, anthropology, business, law and others.