Skip to main content

Philosophy

This guide provides guidance in researching topics relating to philosophy.

Online Encyclopedias & Dictionaries

The Oxford dictionary of philosophy.  Simon Blackburn.  N.Y.: Oxford University Press, 1996.

The Cambridge dictionary of philosophy. ed.by Robert Audi.  N.Y.: Cambridge University Press, 1999.

Concise Routledge encyclopedia of philosophy. N.Y.: Routledge, 2000.

Encyclopedia of philosophy.  Donald M. Borchert, editor-in-chief. N.Y.: Macmillan Reference USA, 2006.

Internet encyclopedia of philosophy.

Stanford encyclopedia of philosophy.

Print Encyclopedias, Dictionaries, and Handbooks

Biographical dictionary of twentieth-century philosophers, ed. by Stuart Brown, Diané Collinson, and Robert Wilkinson. N.Y.: Routledge, 1996.
First Floor Reference:  B 104 .B5

The Oxford dictionary of philosophy, Simon Blackburn, N.Y.: Oxford University Press, 2008
First Floor Reference:  B 41 .B53

The Cambridge dictionary of philosophy, Robert Audi. N.Y.: 1999.
First Floor Reference:  B 41 .C35

The dictionary of seventeenth-century British philosophers, ed. by Andrew Pyle. Sterling, VA: Thoemmes, 2000.
Second Floor:  B 1131 .D53

Encyclopedia of classical philosophy, Donald J. Zeyl. Westport, Conn: Greenwood Press, 1997.
Second Floor:  B 163 .E53

The Oxford handbook of American philosophy, Cheryl Misak. N.Y.: Oxford University Press, 2008
Second Floor:   B 851 .O94

The Oxford handbook of contemporary philosophy, Frank Jackson and Michael Smith.  N.Y.: Oxford University Press, 2007
Second Floor:  B 790 .O94

The Oxford handbook of presocratic philosophy, Patricia Curd and Daniel W. Graham.  N.Y.: Oxford University Press, 2008
Second Floor:  B 187.5 .O94

World philosophies, Ninian Smart. N.Y.: Routledge, 2008.
Second Floor:  B 72 .S64

World philosophy: essay-reviews of 225 major works, ed. by Frank N. Magill. Englewood Cliffs, N.J.: Salem Press, 1982
Second Floor:   B 29 .W68

Find Books at Nimitz