Research Guides: The Panama Canal: Primary Sources

Primary Source Database Subscriptions at Nimitz Library

History Vault Collections This link opens in a new window
Historical Newspapers This link opens in a new window
35 different historical newspapers in a single searchable interface.

Hathi Turst Digitized items:

Annual Report (of the Governor of the Panama Canal) by Canal Zone
Call Number: Online - free - HathiTrust

1914-1951
Background documents relating to the Panama Canal
Call Number: Online - free - HathiTrust

prepared for the Committee on Foreign Relations, United States Senate by the Congressional Research Service, Library of Congress.
Canal Treaties by United States
Call Number: Online - free - HathiTrust

Executive documents presented to the United States Senate, together with proceedings by the Senate theron relative to the Panama Canal.
Diplomatic history of the Panama Canal by United States
Call Number: Online - free - HathiTrust

Correspondence relating to the negotiation and application of certain treaties on the subject of the construction of an interoceanic canal, and accompanying papers.
Diplomatic History of the Panama Canal by United States
Call Number: Online - free - HathiTrust

Correspondence relating to the negotiation and application of certain treaties on the subject of the construction of an interoceanic canal, and accompanying papers.
Joseph Pennell's Pictures of the Panama Canal by Joseph Pennell
Call Number: Online - free - HathiTrust

reproductions of a series of lithographs made by him on the Isthmus of Panama, January-March, 1912 ; together with impressions and notes by the artist.
Panama Canal, Official Handbook by Isthmian Canal Commission (U.S.)
Call Number: Online - free - HathiTrust
The Panama Canal. Hearings concerning estimates for construction by United States
Call Number: Online - free - HathiTrust

of and fortification of [conducted on the Canal Zone by the Committee on Appropriations, House of Representatives, Sixty-second Congress] [Nov. 18, 1912] Fiscal year, 1914

The Panama Canal by George W Goethals
Publication Date: 1911
Feb 1911 National Geographic magazine article by G.W. Goethals

Primary Source Documents

Declassified Documents Online This link opens in a new window
Provides access to over 75,000 declassified documents from numerous government agencies plus supplemental information. Ranging from the late 1940's through the 1970's, it covers nearly every major foreign and domestic event of the time period.
Digital National Security Archive This link opens in a new window
Full-text access to 50 years of declassified documents related to U. S. foreign policy.

The Panama Canal

Nimitz Library - Special Collections and Archives

Primary Source Database Subscriptions at Nimitz Library

Hathi Turst Digitized items:

Primary Source Documents

Primary Sources Tip Sheets