Research Guides: HE242 Methods of Literary Analysis: Argument Sources

Argument Sources: Starting Points

Argument Sources contain arguments that you engage. You may choose to affirm, dispute, or critique the arguments in these sources.

Best Bets:

MLA International Bibliography
Literary criticism in articles, books, book chapters, etc.

Nimitz Search
Books and articles of literary criticism

Tutorials:
What is the MLA International Bibliography?
Keyword v. Subject Searching in the MLA International Bibliography

Argument Sources: Additional Resources

Literature Resource Center This link opens in a new window
Provides full-text access to literary biography, criticism, reviews and critiques gathered from proprietary Gale resources and numerous other secondary sources.
Resource for research on literary topics, authors, and their works. Its coverage includes all genres and disciplines, all time periods, and all regions of the world. Includes full-text scholarly articles, book reviews, biographical essays, full-text of thousands of poems and short stories published in journals and magazines, and essays on thousands of books and topics.
Literature Criticism Online This link opens in a new window
Provides full-text access to Gale's "Contemporary Literary Criticism" series volumes.
Each volume profiles influential writers via excerpted passages from selected criticism.
Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new window
Designed specifically for academic institutions, this collection offers information in the sciences, social sciences, and humanities, including newspapers, magazines, and scholarly journals. It contains full text for many of the publications. A good starting point for research, but other subject specific resources should be also consulted.
Includes full-text coverage in biology, chemistry, economics, engineering, physics, political science, psychology, religion & theology, as well as other subject areas.
Project MUSE This link opens in a new window
This is a searchable collection of journals related to the humanities and social sciences.
An interdisciplinary collection of e-journals in the arts, humanities, and social sciences. These titles cover a variety of subjects with a focus on literature, political science, history and culture.
U.S. Major Dailies This link opens in a new window
Formerly National Newspapers.
Provides access to the Christian Science Monitor, The New York Times, the Wall Street Journal, and the Washington Post.

Subject Guide

Maria Koshute

Email Me

Contact:

English Librarian
Nimitz Library
Reference Dept. Office #210

410-293-6932

Subjects: English / Literature