Skip to main content

Special Collections & Archives

The rare or unique holdings of Nimitz Library.

500th Anniversary of the Death of Raphael

by Jennifer Bryan on 2020-04-06T16:49:12-04:00 in Art and Architecture | Comments

Today marks the 500th anniversary of the death of the Italian High Renaissance painter and architect Raphael.  Born in Urbino in 1483, Raphael is best known for his paintings of the Madonna and for his decoration of the papal apartments in the Vatican.  A number of works on Raphael and the Italian Renaissance can be found in the collections of the Special Collections & Archives Department, both in the Harry F. Guggenheim Collection and the department's general collections.   

  

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Self Portrait, ca. 1506

The Betrothal of the Virgin ("Sposalizio"), 1504 

The Madonna del Granduca, 1505-6

The Madonna di Foligno, ca. 1512

(The above reproduced in Staley, Edgcumbe. Raphael. London: George Newnes Limited; New York: Frederick Warne & Co., 1904?, Guggenheim ND 623.R2 S75 1904)

 

One of the Loggie of Raphael, Vatican

The Hall of the Signatura, Vatican

(Photographs of the Vatican from Begni, Ernesto. The Vatican: Its History - Its Treasures. New York: Letters and Arts Publishing Company, 1914,                N 2940.B5 1914)

 


 Add a Comment

0 Comments.

  Subscribe



Enter your e-mail address to receive notifications of new posts by e-mail.


  Archive



  Follow Us



  Facebook
  Twitter
  Instagram
  Return to Blog
This post is closed for further discussion.