Research Guides: Anthropology: Books

Finding Books at Nimitz Library

This brief video will show you how to find books in the Nimitz Library stacks.

Finding Ebooks at Nimitz Library

Check out this guide for help with finding ebooks in the Nimitz Library collection.

ILL

BLUF: You can get access to resources we don't own.

Sometimes you will see a resource in Nimitz Search or one of our databases that looks great, but the full text isn't there. When that happens, you have the option to request the item from Interlibrary Loan (ILL). This means that someone here will search for that item in libraries across the country. If they find it, you will get an email with access information. Electronic access (an article) will take less time than mailing a physical item (a book), so factor that into your timeline.

Book Series

Anthropology of Contemporary Issues
EASA Series
Interpretations of Culture in the New Millennium
Culture, Place, and Nature: Studies in Anthropology and Environment
Contemporary Ethnography
Published by University of Pennsylvania Press. Check Nimitz Search for individual titles. If we don't have it, remember ILL is an option.

Encyclopedias

Check the Nimitz Library collections for relevant reference works like the ones below.

Encyclopedia of Contemporary Russian Culture
Reference series that covers the period from period 1953, with the death of Stalin, to the present day.
Encyclopedia of Latino Culture : From Calaveras to Quinceañeras
This three-volume encyclopedia describes and explains the variety and commonalities in Latina/o culture, providing comprehensive coverage of a variety of Latina/o cultural forms—popular culture, folk culture, rites of passages, and many other forms of shared expression.
Encyclopedia of Medical Anthropology: Health and Illness in the World's Cultures
A reference work that describes the cultural practices relevant to health in the world's cultures. It provides an overview of important topics in medical anthropology.
Encyclopedia of World Cultures
This reference set lists and describes more than 1,500 global cultures. Based on research of social scientists, it is the source for historical, social, political, economic, linguistic, religious, and other information on virtually every existing culture.