Skip to main content

U.S. Congressional Serial Set (HeinOnline)

The United States Congressional Serial Set is considered an essential publication for unveiling American history. Spanning more than two centuries with more than 17,000 bound volumes, the Serial Set includes House and Senate reports, documents, and more.

Additional Resources

Library Resources for Administrative History

This page from the National Archives provides an overview of using the Serial Set at the National Archives, including indexes and finding aids, as well as general information on the Serial Set's composition, content, and numbering.

Serial Set at the Library of Congress

This page, dedicated to the Library of Congress's digitization of the Serial Set, provides an overview of the Library's digitization progress, links to its blog post series utilizing the Serial Set, as well as Story Maps, interactive presentations of maps, illustrations, and pictures contained in the Set.

U.S. Congressional Serial Set: What It Is and Its History

This article from the Federal Depository Library Program provides an overview of the Serial Set's history, scope and content, as well as its printing and binding history with pictorial examples.

U.S. Serial Set

This guide from the Library of Congress, part of its American Memory collection, provides an overview of the Serial Set, including its history, content, and links to portions digitized by the Library of Congress.

Using the Congressional Serial Set for Genealogical Research

This article from the National Archives' Prologue Magazine provides examples of the type of information contained in the Serial Set that could be of interest to genealogists.

American Indian Documents in the Congressional Serial Set, 1817-1899

This page from SHAREOK collects documents found in the Serial Set between 1817-1899 that are connected to or related to American Indians.

SHAREOK is the joint institutional repository for the University of Oklahoma Libraries (OU), Oklahoma State University Libraries (OSU), and the University of Central Oklahoma Max Chambers Library (UCO). It serves as the home for the intellectual output of those institutions, such as: digital theses and dissertations, faculty publications, open access publications, open educational resources, institution-specific content and much more.

Congressional Serial Set

This page provides an overview of the Serial Set's availability at the Washington University, Saint Louis University, the Saint Louis City Public Library, and the University of Missouri-Saint Louis as well as links to outside resources on using the Serial Set

Overview of the U.S. Congressional Serial Set

This article from Richard J. McKinney, published by the Law Librarians' Society of Washington, D.C., gives a detailed history of the Serial Set, its content, numbering, usage, and links to digitized versions.

U.S. Congressional Serial Set & American State Papers at UCF

This libguide from the University of Central Florida gives detailed information on the Serial Set's history, content, maps, and usage.

U.S. Congressional Serial Set Finding List (The College of Wooster)

This libguide from the College of Wooster correlates Serial Set volume numbers with agency SuDocs numbers, with lists of federal agencies found in the Serial Set, a finding list, and more.

U.S. Congressional Serial Set Inventory (University of North Texas)

This page provides an inventory of Serial Set holdings at the University of North Texas.

U.S. Congressional Documents

Enjoying using the Serial Set in HeinOnline? Keep the congressional research going with HeinOnline's U.S. Congressional Documents collection.

U.S. Serial Set Digital Collection: About the Serial Set (ProQuest Libguides)

This libguide from ProQuest provides an overview on using ProQuest's digital Serial Set, with tips applicable to any research in any version of the Serial Set.

United States Congressional Serial Set

This article from Wikipedia, the free encyclopedia, gives a brief history of the Serial Set and the Set's non-print format availability.