Skip to main content

HH385 | The U.S. Marine Corps / Capt. Hemler

History Databases

Find Articles

Use the databases listed here to identify articles on your topic or subject.  In many cases, you can access the full-text of the articles.

If you can't directly retrieve the full-text, select the blue Find It button under the article citation or check Journals by Title to see if we have access from another source or if the journal is print only and not online at all.

As a last resort, consider placing a request via InterLibrary Loan.

You may also want to simply browse through issues of Marine Corps publications, both recent as well as historical:

  • Leatherneck

1921 to 1951 in Nimitz Library Microfilm Collection

1921 to 12/31/1997 in ProQuest Advanced Technologies & Aerospace Collection

1942 to Present in Nimitz Library Print Collection

1998 to Present in ProQuest Advanced Technologies & Aerospace Collection

  • Marine Corps Times

1999 to 07/08/2011 in Nexis Uni

Nimitz Library Print Collection  [Current Journals - Limited Retention.]

  • Marine Corps Gazette

1916 to 12/31/1993 in ProQuest Advanced Technologies & Aerospace Collection

1916 to 1991 in Nimitz Library Microfilm Collection

1927 to Present in Nimitz Library Print Collection

1994 to Present in ProQuest Advanced Technologies & Aerospace Collection

  • United States Naval Institute Proceedings

1874 to Present in Nimitz Library Print Collection

 Shelved as: UNITED STATES NAVAL INSTITUTE. PROCEEDINGS

1997 to 10/31/2017 in ProQuest Natural Science Collection

1999 to Present in Academic Search Premier

 

Anatomy of a Scholarly Article

Use this link for an explanation of the parts of a scholarly journal article.

https://www.lib.ncsu.edu/tutorials/scholarly-articles/

Legend

The following icons are used in the resources lists:

USNA only Resource is available only to USNA midshipmen, faculty, and staff.
Not all content available Not all content is available to USNA midshipmen, faculty, and staff.
Password required.  Contact the Reference desk, 3-6946, for login information.
Icon Content not fully available in Nimitz Search.  Try searching this database on its own.
 Best Bet  Resource is an excellent all-purpose starting point for the selected subject.

Find Journals by Title

Interlibrary Loan