Find Books - HE112 / Prof. Stanlake :: Alex Myers / Revolutionary

Library Catalog

Search the library catalog to identify books, audiovisuals, or government documents on your topic.

Library Catalog

These are common call number areas for history:

D, DA, DB, DC, etc. -- world history, including the world wars
E -- American. history, including U.S. wars
F -- U.S. states and Latin American history
U -- military history, including the U.S. Army and Air Force
V, VA, VB, etc. -- naval history, including VE for U.S. Marine Corps history

Call numbers A-K are shelved on the second floor; call numbers L-Z are shelved on the third floor.

Literature Section in Nimitz

These are common call number areas you are likely to find:

B -- philosophy, psychology and religion
E -- U.S. History
PN, PS -- literature, but especially subclass "PS" (American Literature)
N -- art and architecture
PA -- classical literature
R -- Medicine

Call numbers A - K are shelved on the second floor; call numbers L - Z are shelved on the third floor.

Ebook Collections (books available full-text online)

ABC-Clio eBooks This link opens in a new window
This collection covers American and World History, Politics and Government, Pop Culture, Society and Education, Current Issues, Religion, and Geography.
Ebook Central This link opens in a new window
Formerly Ebrary.

A collection of ebooks covering all subject areas.
Gale Ebooks This link opens in a new window
Formerly Gale Virtual Reference Library.

Provides an online collection of premier reference eBooks. Search across the entire collection or search a single title.
Oxford Digital Reference Shelf This link opens in a new window
Collection of online reference books from Oxford University Press. Excellent starting point for world cultures, religion, literature and other topics.
Praeger Security International This link opens in a new window
A full-text, electronic resource available on international security. Topics include: Energy security, Human Trafficking, Natural Disasters, Law Enforcement, Counterinsurgency, Information Security, and Military Reform. Updated weekly with commentary by advisory board members, expert authors, and well-known researchers, PSIO provides in-depth analysis on security issues that threaten to destabilize our world.
Salem History This link opens in a new window
Provides access to ebook versions of several of the History reference titles available in Nimitz Library including Great Events from History, Great Athletes, and Milestone Documents.

Interlibrary Loan

Interlibrary Loan (USNA only)
Use this link to submit a request for an article not available in Nimitz Library either electronically or in print.

You must register yourself the first time you use this service.

USNA faculty may request Local Article Delivery Service (LADS) from the same link.

Time Saving Tip

Remember to check the footnotes or endnotes as well as the bibliography in any scholarly book you use. This often leads you to a variety of possible additional sources, including primary sources.