Admin Sign In 

HE 111 - RHETORIC AND INTRODUCTION TO LITERATURE  Tags: english literature he111 kyhos  

This library research guide details the resources available for researching literary authors and their works. Reference works, such as CLC, SSC and the Oxford Encyclopedias will get you started in the right direction.
Last update: Oct 01st, 2009 URL: http://libguides.usna.edu/he111  Print Guide  RSS Updates

HE 111 - English            Print Page
  
 

Nimitz Library Catalog

Search Nimitz Library Catalog:

 

Access the full Nimitz Library Catalog

 

Nimitz Reference Resources

 
 

PRINT Background Resources on Short Stories

 

 

Literature

Call NumberTitle
REF  PS374 .S5 F33 2000

  Facts on File Companion to the

  American Short Story

REF  PS374 .S5 C57 2000

Columbia Companion to the

Twentieth-century American Short Story

REF PN3373 .R36 1994 Reference Guide to Short Fiction
REFERENCE TABLE #6
Short Story Criticism (see also item below on using SSC)

 

CLC - Contemporary Literary Criticism

Contemporary Literary Criticism(CLC) is a way to search across more than 250 volumes of criticism excerpts and literary critiques that have been gathered together from many different sources over the years.

 

Short Story Criticism (SSC) / Gale

 


The EASY way to check the entire set of Short Story Criticism (SSC) volumes is to search "Gale's Literary Index" by Author and see which volumes are listed for SSC entries:

After you find out which volumes / pages have references to your short story, you can go to the RED VOLUMES on Table #6 to start reading...

 

Library Online Database Resources for LITERARY Research:

 

  • Academic Search Premier -- Designed specifically for academic institutions, this collection offers information in the sciences, social sciences, and humanities, including newspapers, magazines, and scholarly journals. It contains full text for many of the publications. A good starting point for research, but other subject specific resources should be also consulted (see below).
  •  

  • MLA International Bibliogrpahy -- Provides access to articles, books, book chapters, etc. that consist of scholarly literary criticism.
  •  

  • Literature Online -- Provides full-text access to literary criticism similar to MLA but with more focus on "British" authors and works.
  •  

    Nimitz Library Reference Dept.

    Profile ImageMichael Macan
    Contact Info:
    Nimitz Library
    410-293-2420
    email: [macan@usna.edu]
    Send Email

    Subjects:
    English & American Literature;Economics (Acting)

     
    Description

      Loading content... please wait