Admin Sign In 

FP130 - American Government / Prof. Zotti 

FP130 - American Gov't - Prof. Zotti; Fall 2009 Supreme Court Research Resources
Last update: Nov 20th, 2009 URL: http://libguides.usna.edu/fp130zotti  Print Guide  RSS Updates

FP130 - American Government            Print Page
  
 

Nimitz Library Catalog

Search Nimitz Library Catalog:

 

Access the full Nimitz Library Catalog

 

Search Tips:

REMEMBER, don't just search the case name or specific parties of the court case!  You will need to B-R-O-A-D-E-N your searches to include other terms, words, concepts, ideas & phrases that are associated with the U.S. Supreme Court case you are researching.

For Example, you may want to try searching:

"freedom of speech", or "first amendment rights",

rather than:

"Morse v. Frederick" or "Tinker v. Des Moines Independent Community School District"

 

 
 

Supreme Court Research

§   PRINT SOURCES in the Nimitz Library Reference Collection à

 

REF  KF 4548  .O97 1999

 

REF  KF4549  .F56 2003

Oxford Guide to United States Supreme Court Decisions

 

Landmark Decisions of the United States Supreme Court

REF  KF4549  .L58 1999

Landmark Supreme Court Cases

REF  KF4549  .M334 2000

Illustrated Great Decisions of the Supreme Court

REF  KF8720  .B37 2000

CQ’s Desk Reference on American Courts

REF  KF8741  .A152 S87

Supreme Court Yearbook (Annual: latest ed. in Ref, older yrs. in stacks)

REF  KF8742  .A35 E53 2001

Encyclopedia of the U.S. Supreme Court (3 Vols.)

REF  KF8742  .A35 O93 2005

Oxford Companion to the Supreme Court of the United States

REF  KF8742  .A35 S8 1998

Supreme Court A to Z

REF  KF8742  .E68 1994

Congressional Quarterly’s Guide to the U.S. Supreme Court

REF  KF8742  .S8

Supreme Court Review (Annual: latest ed. in Ref, older yrs. in stacks)

REF  KF8742  .S914 2003 

 

REF  KF8742 .W567 2004

Supreme Court Compendium, 3rd Edition

 

Guide to the U.S. Supreme Court (2 Vols.)

     

    Supreme Court Opinions / Decisions

    §  Locating the Text of Supreme Court Decisions:  

     

    1843 -  , v.1-   (Official Printed Edition) see  United States (U.S.) Reports”:  Nimitz Library REF  KF101 .U52 

    1991 - present, v. 502-    s U.S. Supreme Court website: http://www.supremecourtus.gov/opinions/boundvolumes.html

    (Historic & Selected cases) s Cornell Law School website:   http://www.law.cornell.edu/supct/index.html

    Cornell's LII site includes a browsable and searchable Collection of 631 Historic Decisions, your case MAY or MAY NOT be one of them!

     

    Supreme Court Websites

    >> U.S. Supreme Court Website:   http://www.supremecourtus.gov/                            

          (includes text of Supreme Court Decisions since 1991)

     

    >> Oyez – U.S. Supreme Court Multimedia:   http://www.oyez.org

    (Audio of arguments from Court recorded since 1995)

     

    >> C-Span’s  “Judiciary Resources” Website:

    http://www.c-span.org/resources/judiciary.asp

                (Q & A sessions and profiles of selected Justices)

     

    Find ARTICLE sources for SUPREME COURT CASES

  • Academic Search Premier -- Designed specifically for academic institutions, this collection offers information in the sciences, social sciences, and humanities, including newspapers, magazines, and scholarly journals. It contains full text for many of the publications. A good starting point for research, but other subject specific resources should be also consulted. RECOMMEND you start here in searching for scholarly articles on & about your case.
  • __________________________________________________________

  • LexisNexis Academic -- Search under the Legal tab for  full-text access to US Supreme Court cases and Law Reviews.
  • __________________________________________________________

  • CQ Electronic Library -- Accesss to CQ Supreme Court Collection, CQ Researcher and CQ Weekly publications. 
  • __________________________________________________________ 

  • National Journal Group's Policy Central -- Provides full-text access to National Journal magazine as well as several political and policy databases, including The Hotline, Congress Daily, Technology Daily, The Almanac of American Politics, Polltrack. and Campaigns
  • __________________________________________________________

    __________________________________________________________

    • Project Muse - Full-text access to journals published by various associations and university presses. These titles cover a variety of subjects but mostly related to literature, political science, history and culture.

     

     

    Nimitz Reference Dept.

    Profile ImageMichael Macan
    Contact Info:
    Nimitz Library
    410-293-2420
    email: [macan@usna.edu]
    Send Email

    Subjects:
    English & American Literature;Economics (Acting)

     
    Description

      Loading content... please wait