Admin Sign In 

FP130 - American Government / CDR Garbesi 

Last update: Oct 07th, 2009 URL: http://libguides.usna.edu/fp130garbesi  Print Guide  RSS Updates

FP130 - American Government / CDR Garbesi            Print Page
  
 

Nimitz Library Catalog

Search Nimitz Library Catalog:

 

Access the full Nimitz Library Catalog

 

Search Tips:

REMEMBER, don't just search the bill number(s) or specific title of the legislation!  You will need to B-R-O-A-D-E-N your searches to include other terms, words, concepts, ideas & phrases that are associated with the legislation you are researching.

For Example:

you may want to try searching "federal environmental policy" or some sort, rather than "climate security act"

 

Congressional Districts / Maps

The National Atlas (nationalatlas.gov) has prepared simple maps of each District of the 110th Congress (January 2007-January 2009).  Most districts have probably not changed any boundaries for the current Congress.

Don't know your district?  Search at: "Write Your Representative"

 

Print Journalism Coverage of Congress / Gov't:

 

 

 

 

Recent print issues of all the publication listed above are available in the Current Periodicals area on the Main Floor of Nimitz (arranged alphabetically by title).

 

 

 
 

Legislative Research

FP130 Policy Paper/ CDR Garbesi - Fall 2009

Legislative Bills to Research:

S. 308 / H.R. 140 --  111th Congress (2009-2010 / Current Term)

These bills are to be researched in connection with the Rep & District Summary Assignment.

_________________________________________________________

S. 3036 / S. 2191 --  110th Congress (2006-2008 / Previous Term)

These bills are the basis for researching the Policy Paper as if you were a congressional staffer tasked with reporting back to your representative (boss)...  Always keep in mind your goal with regard to the Policy Paper Assignment, which is to:

Research policy relating to S.3036 / S. 2191 and develop a recommendation (i.e. "thesis") which takes into account both the need for good public policy on a national level and any local political concerns which may conflict or concur.

     

    Library of Congress - THOMAS

    Use THOMAS to search for legislative information and action on S. 3036 and S. 2191

    THOMAS will default to the current congress (111th), so you will need to revert to the 110th by selecting "Search Multiple, Previous Congresses":

     

    Library Resources for LEGISLATIVE Research:

  • GalleryWatch -- This is an index to the research materials produced by the Congressional Research Service (CRS). These materials cover a variety of topics that are used by Congress to gain insight into proposed legislation.
  • __________________________________________________________

  • Academic Search Premier -- Designed specifically for academic institutions, this collection offers information in the sciences, social sciences, and humanities, including newspapers, magazines, and scholarly journals. It contains full text for many of the publications. A good starting point for research, but other subject specific resources should be also consulted.
  • __________________________________________________________

  • LexisNexis Congressional -- Provides full-text access to US legislative information from the Congressional Information Service, Inc.
  • __________________________________________________________

  • National Journal Group's Policy Central -- Provides full-text access to National Journal magazine as well as several political and policy databases, including The Hotline, Congress Daily, Technology Daily, The Almanac of American Politics, Polltrack. and Campaigns.
  • __________________________________________________________

  • CQ Electronic Library -- Accesss to CQ Researcher and CQ Weekly publications. 
  • __________________________________________________________

  • Roll Call -- Search this news source via Lexis-Nexis.  Roll Call is a unique newspaper that covers the United States Congress.  Published four times per week when Congress is in session (once per week when in recess), Roll Call covers House and Senate activity and the people and issues involved in the Congressional arena.
  •  

     

    Background Resources on the U.S. Congress

    U. S. CONGRESS

    Call NumberTitle
    REF  E176  .Q38 1995 Senators of the United States: a Historical Bibliography
    REF  E183  .E48 2001 Encyclopedia of American Political History
    REF  E839.5  .C57 Encyclopedia of American Political Reform
    REF  JF501 .E53  1994 Encyclopedia of the American Legislative System
    READY REF JK1010  .W48  Who’s Who in Congress (annual)
    REF  JK1021  .C554 1999 Congress A to Z
    REF  JK1021  .C5593 Congressional Deskbook (biennial)
    REF  JK1021  .C565 2000   Congressional Quarterly’s Guide to Congress
    REF  JK1030  .B56 Biographical Directory of the United States Congress, 1774-Present
    REF  JK1030  .G84 1988 A Guide to Research Collections of Former Members of the U.S. House of Representatives, 1789-1987
    REF  JK1041  .L36 1999 Landmark Documents of the U.S. Congress
    REF  JK1051 .S555 1997 Directory of Congressional Voting Scores & Interest Group Ratings
    REF  JK1067 .E63  1995 Encyclopedia of the United States Congress
    REF  JK1991 .M26 1996  Open Secrets, Your Guide to the Money in U. S. Elections
    REF TABLE 7 KF49 .C661 CQ Almanac: A Comprehensive Analysis of Congressional Activity (annual)
     

    Nimitz Library Reference Dept.

    Profile ImageMichael Macan
    Contact Info:
    Nimitz Library
    410-293-2420
    email: [macan@usna.edu]
    Send Email

    Subjects:
    English & American Literature;Economics (Acting)

     
    Description

      Loading content... please wait